lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2023 10:44:39 +0100
From: Köry Maincent <kory.maincent@...tlin.com>
To: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@...adcom.com>, Broadcom internal
 kernel review list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>, Andrew Lunn
 <andrew@...n.ch>, Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>, Russell King
 <linux@...linux.org.uk>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, Eric
 Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Richard
 Cochran <richardcochran@...il.com>, Radu Pirea
 <radu-nicolae.pirea@....nxp.com>, Jay Vosburgh <j.vosburgh@...il.com>, Andy
 Gospodarek <andy@...yhouse.net>, Nicolas Ferre
 <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>, Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@...on.dev>,
 Willem de Bruijn <willemdebruijn.kernel@...il.com>, Jonathan Corbet
 <corbet@....net>, Horatiu Vultur <horatiu.vultur@...rochip.com>,
 UNGLinuxDriver@...rochip.com, Simon Horman <horms@...nel.org>, Vladimir
 Oltean <vladimir.oltean@....com>, Thomas Petazzoni
 <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, Maxime Chevallier
 <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v7 15/16] net: ethtool: ts: Let the active time
 stamping layer be selectable

On Sat, 18 Nov 2023 18:34:33 -0800
Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org> wrote:

> On Tue, 14 Nov 2023 12:28:43 +0100 Kory Maincent wrote:
> > +	if (!tb[ETHTOOL_A_TS_LAYER])
> > +		return 0;  
> 
> GENL_REQ_ATTR_CHECK(), not sure why anyone would issue this command
> without any useful attr.
> 
> > +	/* Disable time stamping in the current layer. */
> > +	if (netif_device_present(dev) &&
> > +	    (dev->ts_layer == PHY_TIMESTAMPING ||
> > +	    dev->ts_layer == MAC_TIMESTAMPING)) {
> > +		ret = dev_set_hwtstamp_phylib(dev, &config, info->extack);
> > +		if (ret < 0)
> > +			return ret;  
> 
> So you only support PHYLIB?
> 
> The semantics need to be better documented :(

Yes as we don't really know how each MAC deal with the timestamping
before ndo_hwstamp_get/set. Using phylib only allows us to be sure these NDO are
implemented and the management of timestamping is coherent in the MAC. Also It
will push people to move on to these NDOs.

Ok I will add documentation.

-- 
Köry Maincent, Bootlin
Embedded Linux and kernel engineering
https://bootlin.com

Powered by blists - more mailing lists