lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 30 Nov 2023 20:20:44 +0800
From: Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@...wei.com>
To: Alexander Lobakin <aleksander.lobakin@...el.com>
CC: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>, Paul Menzel <pmenzel@...gen.mpg.de>,
	Maciej Fijalkowski <maciej.fijalkowski@...el.com>, Jesper Dangaard Brouer
	<hawk@...nel.org>, Larysa Zaremba <larysa.zaremba@...el.com>,
	<netdev@...r.kernel.org>, Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@...com>, Ilias
 Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@...aro.org>, <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>, Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@...el.com>,
	<intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org>, David Christensen
	<drc@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>, Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>, Paolo Abeni
	<pabeni@...hat.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [Intel-wired-lan] [PATCH net-next v5 03/14] page_pool: avoid
 calling no-op externals when possible

On 2023/11/30 19:58, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
> From: Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@...wei.com>
> Date: Thu, 30 Nov 2023 16:46:11 +0800
> 
>> On 2023/11/29 21:17, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
>>> From: Yunsheng Lin <linyunsheng@...wei.com>
>>> Date: Wed, 29 Nov 2023 11:17:50 +0800
>>>
>>>> On 2023/11/27 22:32, Alexander Lobakin wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>> Chris, any thoughts on a global flag for skipping DMA syncs ladder?
>>>>
>>>> It seems there was one already in the past:
>>>>
>>>> https://lore.kernel.org/netdev/7c55a4d7-b4aa-25d4-1917-f6f355bd722e@arm.com/T/
>>>
>>> It addresses a different problem, meaningless indirect calls, while this
>>> one addresses meaningless direct calls :>
>>> When the above gets merged, we could combine these two into one global,
>>> but Eric wasn't active with his patch and I remember there were some
>>> problems, so I wouldn't count on that it will arrive soon.
>>
>> I went through the above patch, It seems to me that there was no
>> fundamental problem that stopping us from implementing it in the dma
>> layer basing on Eric' patch if Eric is no longer interested in working
>> on a newer version?
> 
> I'm somewhat interested in continuing working on Eric's patch, but not
> now. Have some urgent projects to work on, I could take this in January
> I guess...
> This PP-specific shortcut was done earlier and gives good boosts. It
> would be trivial to remove it together with the XSk shortcut once a
> generic both indirect and direct call DMA shortcut lands.
> Does this sounds good / justified enough? Or you and other
> reviewers/maintainers would prefer to wait for the generic one without
> taking this patch?
> 

I would prefer we could wait for the generic one as there is only about one
month between now and january:)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists