lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 14 Apr 2011 14:19:02 -0700
From:	Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@...cle.com>
To:	chris.mason@...cle.com, viro@...iv.linux.org.uk,
	akpm@...ux-foundation.org, adilger.kernel@...ger.ca, tytso@....edu,
	mfasheh@...e.com, jlbec@...lplan.org, matthew@....cx,
	linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org, linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org,
	ocfs2-devel@....oracle.com, linux-mm@...ck.org, hch@...radead.org,
	ngupta@...are.org, jeremy@...p.org, JBeulich@...ell.com,
	kurt.hackel@...cle.com, npiggin@...nel.dk,
	dave.mccracken@...cle.com, riel@...hat.com, avi@...hat.com,
	konrad.wilk@...cle.com, dan.magenheimer@...cle.com, mel@....ul.ie,
	yinghan@...gle.com, gthelen@...gle.com,
	torvalds@...ux-foundation.org
Subject: [PATCH V8 7/8] ext4: add cleancache support

[PATCH V8 7/8] ext4: add cleancache support

This seventh patch of eight in this cleancache series "opts-in"
cleancache for ext4.  Filesystems must explicitly enable cleancache
by calling cleancache_init_fs anytime an instance of the filesystem
is mounted. For ext4, all other cleancache hooks are in
the VFS layer including the matching cleancache_flush_fs
hook which must be called on unmount.

Details and a FAQ can be found in Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt

[v6-v8: no changes]
[v5: jeremy@...p.org: simplify init hook and any future fs init changes]
Signed-off-by: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@...cle.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@...p.org>
Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>
Acked-by: Andreas Dilger <adilger@....com>
Cc: Ted Ts'o <tytso@....edu>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@...IV.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@....cx>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@...nel.dk>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@....ul.ie>
Cc: Rik Van Riel <riel@...hat.com>
Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@...ell.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@...cle.com>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@...e.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <joel.becker@...cle.com>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@...are.org>

---

Diffstat:
 fs/ext4/super.c                          |    2 ++
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

--- linux-2.6.39-rc3/fs/ext4/super.c	2011-04-11 18:21:51.000000000 -0600
+++ linux-2.6.39-rc3-cleancache/fs/ext4/super.c	2011-04-13 17:10:52.708850707 -0600
@@ -38,6 +38,7 @@
 #include <linux/ctype.h>
 #include <linux/log2.h>
 #include <linux/crc16.h>
+#include <linux/cleancache.h>
 #include <asm/uaccess.h>
 
 #include <linux/kthread.h>
@@ -1932,6 +1933,7 @@ static int ext4_setup_super(struct super
 			EXT4_INODES_PER_GROUP(sb),
 			sbi->s_mount_opt, sbi->s_mount_opt2);
 
+	cleancache_init_fs(sb);
 	return res;
 }
 
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-ext4" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Powered by blists - more mailing lists