lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu,  1 Apr 2021 15:13:17 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@...wei.com>,
        "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@...radead.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org,
        clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        Lee Duncan <lduncan@...e.com>, Chris Leech <cleech@...hat.com>,
        Adam Nichols <adam@...mm-co.com>,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v4 0/3] sysfs: Unconditionally use vmalloc for buffer

This series improves the defensive posture of sysfs's use of seq_file
to gain the vmap guard pages at the end of vmalloc buffers to stop a
class of recurring flaw[1]. The long-term goal is to switch sysfs from
a buffer to using seq_file directly, but this will take time to refactor.

Included is also a Clang fix for NULL arithmetic and an LKDTM test to
validate vmalloc guard pages.

v4:
- fix NULL arithmetic (Arnd)
- add lkdtm test
- reword commit message
v3: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210401022145.2019422-1-keescook@chromium.org/
v2: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210315174851.622228-1-keescook@chromium.org/
v1: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210312205558.2947488-1-keescook@chromium.org/

Thanks!

-Kees

Arnd Bergmann (1):
  seq_file: Fix clang warning for NULL pointer arithmetic

Kees Cook (2):
  lkdtm/heap: Add vmalloc linear overflow test
  sysfs: Unconditionally use vmalloc for buffer

 drivers/misc/lkdtm/core.c               |  3 ++-
 drivers/misc/lkdtm/heap.c               | 21 +++++++++++++++++-
 drivers/misc/lkdtm/lkdtm.h              |  3 ++-
 fs/kernfs/file.c                        |  9 +++++---
 fs/seq_file.c                           |  5 ++++-
 fs/sysfs/file.c                         | 29 +++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/seq_file.h                |  6 +++++
 tools/testing/selftests/lkdtm/tests.txt |  3 ++-
 8 files changed, 71 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

-- 
2.25.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists