lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Sep 2021 08:37:15 -0600
From:   Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.pizza>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
        kernel test robot <oliver.sang@...el.com>,
        Vito Caputo <vcaputo@...garu.com>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ben Segall <bsegall@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@...ntu.com>,
        Anand K Mistry <amistry@...gle.com>,
        "Kenta.Tada@...y.com" <Kenta.Tada@...y.com>,
        Alexey Gladkov <legion@...nel.org>,
        Michael WeiƟ 
        <michael.weiss@...ec.fraunhofer.de>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>, Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Qi Zheng <zhengqi.arch@...edance.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Stefan Metzmacher <metze@...ba.org>,
        Lai Jiangshan <laijs@...ux.alibaba.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Ohhoon Kwon <ohoono.kwon@...sung.com>,
        Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@...gle.com>,
        YiFei Zhu <yifeifz2@...inois.edu>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        x86@...nel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] leaking_addresses: Always print a trailing newline

On Wed, Sep 29, 2021 at 03:02:18PM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> For files that lack trailing newlines and match a leaking address (e.g.
> wchan[1]), the leaking_addresses.pl report would run together with the
> next line, making things look corrupted.
> 
> Unconditionally remove the newline on input, and write it back out on
> output.
> 
> [1] https://lore.kernel.org/all/20210103142726.GC30643@xsang-OptiPlex-9020/
> 
> Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
> Cc: Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.pizza>

Acked-by: Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.pizza>

Thanks!

> Cc: linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> ---
>  scripts/leaking_addresses.pl | 3 ++-
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl b/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl
> index b2d8b8aa2d99..8f636a23bc3f 100755
> --- a/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl
> +++ b/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl
> @@ -455,8 +455,9 @@ sub parse_file
>  
>  	open my $fh, "<", $file or return;
>  	while ( <$fh> ) {
> +		chomp;
>  		if (may_leak_address($_)) {
> -			print $file . ': ' . $_;
> +			printf("$file: $_\n");
>  		}
>  	}
>  	close $fh;
> -- 
> 2.30.2
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists