lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 23 Sep 2022 13:28:11 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Alex Elder <elder@...aro.org>,
        "Ruhl, Michael J" <michael.j.ruhl@...el.com>,
        Hyeonggon Yoo <42.hyeyoo@...il.com>,
        Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Alex Elder <elder@...nel.org>,
        Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        Christian K├Ânig <christian.koenig@....com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>, Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-media@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org, dev@...nvswitch.org,
        x86@...nel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 05/16] net: ipa: Proactively round up to kmalloc bucket size

Instead of discovering the kmalloc bucket size _after_ allocation, round
up proactively so the allocation is explicitly made for the full size,
allowing the compiler to correctly reason about the resulting size of
the buffer through the existing __alloc_size() hint.

Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Alex Elder <elder@...aro.org>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/4d75a9fd-1b94-7208-9de8-5a0102223e68@ieee.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 drivers/net/ipa/gsi_trans.c | 7 +++++--
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ipa/gsi_trans.c b/drivers/net/ipa/gsi_trans.c
index 18e7e8c405be..eeec149b5d89 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ipa/gsi_trans.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ipa/gsi_trans.c
@@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ struct gsi_tre {
 int gsi_trans_pool_init(struct gsi_trans_pool *pool, size_t size, u32 count,
 			u32 max_alloc)
 {
+	size_t alloc_size;
 	void *virt;
 
 	if (!size)
@@ -104,13 +105,15 @@ int gsi_trans_pool_init(struct gsi_trans_pool *pool, size_t size, u32 count,
 	 * If there aren't enough entries starting at the free index,
 	 * we just allocate free entries from the beginning of the pool.
 	 */
-	virt = kcalloc(count + max_alloc - 1, size, GFP_KERNEL);
+	alloc_size = size_mul(count + max_alloc - 1, size);
+	alloc_size = kmalloc_size_roundup(alloc_size);
+	virt = kzalloc(alloc_size, GFP_KERNEL);
 	if (!virt)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
 	pool->base = virt;
 	/* If the allocator gave us any extra memory, use it */
-	pool->count = ksize(pool->base) / size;
+	pool->count = alloc_size / size;
 	pool->free = 0;
 	pool->max_alloc = max_alloc;
 	pool->size = size;
-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists