lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 23 Sep 2022 13:28:14 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        Christian König <christian.koenig@....com>,
        linux-media@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org,
        "Ruhl, Michael J" <michael.j.ruhl@...el.com>,
        Hyeonggon Yoo <42.hyeyoo@...il.com>,
        Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Alex Elder <elder@...nel.org>,
        Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>, Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        Miguel Ojeda <ojeda@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        intel-wired-lan@...ts.osuosl.org, dev@...nvswitch.org,
        x86@...nel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev,
        linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 08/16] dma-buf: Proactively round up to kmalloc bucket size

Instead of discovering the kmalloc bucket size _after_ allocation, round
up proactively so the allocation is explicitly made for the full size,
allowing the compiler to correctly reason about the resulting size of
the buffer through the existing __alloc_size() hint.

Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>
Cc: "Christian König" <christian.koenig@....com>
Cc: linux-media@...r.kernel.org
Cc: dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org
Cc: linaro-mm-sig@...ts.linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 drivers/dma-buf/dma-resv.c | 9 +++++++--
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/dma-resv.c b/drivers/dma-buf/dma-resv.c
index 205acb2c744d..5b0a4b8830ff 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/dma-resv.c
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/dma-resv.c
@@ -98,12 +98,17 @@ static void dma_resv_list_set(struct dma_resv_list *list,
 static struct dma_resv_list *dma_resv_list_alloc(unsigned int max_fences)
 {
 	struct dma_resv_list *list;
+	size_t size;
 
-	list = kmalloc(struct_size(list, table, max_fences), GFP_KERNEL);
+	/* Round up to the next kmalloc bucket size. */
+	size = kmalloc_size_roundup(struct_size(list, table, max_fences));
+
+	list = kmalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL);
 	if (!list)
 		return NULL;
 
-	list->max_fences = (ksize(list) - offsetof(typeof(*list), table)) /
+	/* Given the resulting bucket size, recalculated max_fences. */
+	list->max_fences = (size - offsetof(typeof(*list), table)) /
 		sizeof(*list->table);
 
 	return list;
-- 
2.34.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists