lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 26 Sep 2022 19:30:46 -0700
From:   Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To:     "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>
Cc:     Cezary Rojewski <cezary.rojewski@...el.com>,
        Pierre-Louis Bossart <pierre-louis.bossart@...ux.intel.com>,
        Liam Girdwood <liam.r.girdwood@...ux.intel.com>,
        Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...ux.intel.com>,
        Bard Liao <yung-chuan.liao@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ranjani Sridharan <ranjani.sridharan@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kai Vehmanen <kai.vehmanen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, alsa-devel@...a-project.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH][next] ASoC: Intel: Skylake: Replace zero-length arrays
 with DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY() helper

On Mon, Sep 26, 2022 at 05:58:17PM -0500, Gustavo A. R. Silva wrote:
> Zero-length arrays are deprecated and we are moving towards adopting
> C99 flexible-array members, instead. So, replace zero-length arrays
> declarations in anonymous union with the new DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY()
> helper macro.
> 
> This helper allows for flexible-array members in unions.
> 
> Link: https://github.com/KSPP/linux/issues/193
> Link: https://github.com/KSPP/linux/issues/226
> Link: https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/Zero-Length.html
> Signed-off-by: Gustavo A. R. Silva <gustavoars@...nel.org>

Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists