lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 6 Oct 2023 22:50:01 +0200
From: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@...eddedor.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Tomasz Figa <tomasz.figa@...il.com>
Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>,
 Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>,
 Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@...sung.com>,
 Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
 "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>,
 linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
 Nathan Chancellor <nathan@...nel.org>,
 Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>, Tom Rix <trix@...hat.com>,
 linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, llvm@...ts.linux.dev
Subject: Re: [PATCH] pinctrl: samsung: Annotate struct exynos_muxed_weint_data
 with __counted_by



On 10/6/23 22:17, Kees Cook wrote:
> Prepare for the coming implementation by GCC and Clang of the __counted_by
> attribute. Flexible array members annotated with __counted_by can have
> their accesses bounds-checked at run-time via CONFIG_UBSAN_BOUNDS (for
> array indexing) and CONFIG_FORTIFY_SOURCE (for strcpy/memcpy-family
> functions).
> 
> As found with Coccinelle[1], add __counted_by for struct
> exynos_muxed_weint_data. Additionally, since the element count member
> must be set before accessing the annotated flexible array member, move
> its initialization earlier.
> 
> Cc: Tomasz Figa <tomasz.figa@...il.com>
> Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@...aro.org>
> Cc: Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>
> Cc: Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@...sung.com>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
> Cc: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@...nel.org>
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org
> Link: https://github.com/kees/kernel-tools/blob/trunk/coccinelle/examples/counted_by.cocci [1]
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

Reviewed-by: Gustavo A. R. Silva <gustavoars@...nel.org>

Thanks!
-- 
Gustavo

> ---
>   drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.c | 2 +-
>   drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.h | 2 +-
>   2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.c b/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.c
> index a8212fc126bf..6b58ec84e34b 100644
> --- a/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.c
> +++ b/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.c
> @@ -616,6 +616,7 @@ __init int exynos_eint_wkup_init(struct samsung_pinctrl_drv_data *d)
>   		+ muxed_banks*sizeof(struct samsung_pin_bank *), GFP_KERNEL);
>   	if (!muxed_data)
>   		return -ENOMEM;
> +	muxed_data->nr_banks = muxed_banks;
>   
>   	irq_set_chained_handler_and_data(irq, exynos_irq_demux_eint16_31,
>   					 muxed_data);
> @@ -628,7 +629,6 @@ __init int exynos_eint_wkup_init(struct samsung_pinctrl_drv_data *d)
>   
>   		muxed_data->banks[idx++] = bank;
>   	}
> -	muxed_data->nr_banks = muxed_banks;
>   
>   	return 0;
>   }
> diff --git a/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.h b/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.h
> index 7bd6d82c9f36..3ac52c2cf998 100644
> --- a/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.h
> +++ b/drivers/pinctrl/samsung/pinctrl-exynos.h
> @@ -159,7 +159,7 @@ struct exynos_weint_data {
>    */
>   struct exynos_muxed_weint_data {
>   	unsigned int nr_banks;
> -	struct samsung_pin_bank *banks[];
> +	struct samsung_pin_bank *banks[] __counted_by(nr_banks);
>   };
>   
>   int exynos_eint_gpio_init(struct samsung_pinctrl_drv_data *d);

Powered by blists - more mailing lists