lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 03 Nov 2023 18:02:31 +0100
From: Duje Mihanović <duje.mihanovic@...le.hr>
To: Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
 Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>, Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
 Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
 Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@...aro.org>,
 Conor Dooley <conor+dt@...nel.org>, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>,
 Daniel Mack <daniel@...que.org>, Haojian Zhuang <haojian.zhuang@...il.com>,
 Robert Jarzmik <robert.jarzmik@...e.fr>, Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
 Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>, Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
 Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, Leo Yan <leoy@...vell.com>,
 Zhangfei Gao <zhangfei.gao@...vell.com>, Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@...sk>,
 Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
 Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
 "Guilherme G . Piccoli" <gpiccoli@...lia.com>,
 Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Cc: linux-clk@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
 linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
 alsa-devel@...a-project.org, linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org,
 phone-devel@...r.kernel.org, ~postmarketos/upstreaming@...ts.sr.ht,
 Karel Balej <balejk@...fyz.cz>
Subject:
 Re: [PATCH v7 08/10] arm64: Kconfig.platforms: Add config for Marvell PXA1908
 platform

On Friday, November 3, 2023 4:34:54 PM CET Robin Murphy wrote:
> On 2023-11-02 3:20 pm, Duje Mihanović wrote:
> > +config ARCH_MMP
> > +	bool "Marvell MMP SoC Family"
> > +	select ARM_GIC
> > +	select ARM_ARCH_TIMER
> > +	select ARM_SMMU
> 
> NAK, not only is selecting user-visible symbols generally frowned upon,
> and ignoring their dependencies even worse, but for a multiplatform
> kernel the user may well want this to be a module.
> 
> If having the SMMU driver built-in is somehow fundamentally required for
> this platform to boot, that would represent much bigger problems.

The SoC can boot without SMMU and PDMA, but not GIC, pinctrl or the arch 
timer. I see that most other SoCs still select drivers and frameworks they 
presumably need for booting, with the exceptions of ARCH_BITMAIN, ARCH_LG1K 
and a couple others. Which of these two options should I go for?

Regards,
Duje





Powered by blists - more mailing lists