lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 6 Dec 2023 13:07:27 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: davidgow@...gle.com
Cc: Rae Moar <rmoar@...gle.com>,
	Brendan Higgins <brendan.higgins@...ux.dev>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Matti Vaittinen <mazziesaccount@...il.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>, Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, Maxime Ripard <mripard@...nel.org>,
	linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org, kunit-dev@...glegroups.com,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-hardening@...r.kernel.org, linux-sound@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] fortify: test: Use kunit_device

On Tue, Dec 05, 2023 at 03:31:34PM +0800, davidgow@...gle.com wrote:
> Using struct root_device to create fake devices for tests is something
> of a hack. The new struct kunit_device is meant for this purpose, so use
> it instead.
> 
> Signed-off-by: David Gow <davidgow@...gle.com>
> ---
>  lib/fortify_kunit.c | 5 +++--
>  1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/lib/fortify_kunit.c b/lib/fortify_kunit.c
> index c8c33cbaae9e..f7a1fce8849b 100644
> --- a/lib/fortify_kunit.c
> +++ b/lib/fortify_kunit.c
> @@ -16,6 +16,7 @@
>  #define pr_fmt(fmt) KBUILD_MODNAME ": " fmt
>  
>  #include <kunit/test.h>
> +#include <kunit/device.h>
>  #include <linux/device.h>
>  #include <linux/slab.h>
>  #include <linux/string.h>
> @@ -269,7 +270,7 @@ DEFINE_ALLOC_SIZE_TEST_PAIR(kvmalloc)
>  	size_t len;							\
>  									\
>  	/* Create dummy device for devm_kmalloc()-family tests. */	\
> -	dev = root_device_register(dev_name);				\
> +	dev = kunit_device_register(test, dev_name);			\
>  	KUNIT_ASSERT_FALSE_MSG(test, IS_ERR(dev),			\
>  			       "Cannot register test device\n");	\
>  									\
> @@ -303,7 +304,7 @@ DEFINE_ALLOC_SIZE_TEST_PAIR(kvmalloc)
>  	checker(len, devm_kmemdup(dev, "Ohai", len, gfp),		\
>  		devm_kfree(dev, p));					\
>  									\
> -	device_unregister(dev);						\
> +	kunit_device_unregister(test, dev);				\
>  } while (0)
>  DEFINE_ALLOC_SIZE_TEST_PAIR(devm_kmalloc)

Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

(As an aside; shouldn't this get automatically cleaned up like other
kunit resources, though?)

-- 
Kees Cook

Powered by blists - more mailing lists