lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 5 Oct 2010 00:40:59 +0200
From:	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...k.pl>
To:	Anisse Astier <anisse@...ier.eu>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@...e.de>
Cc:	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Testers List <kernel-testers@...r.kernel.org>,
	Maciej Rutecki <maciej.rutecki@...il.com>,
	Florian Mickler <florian@...kler.org>,
	Eric Anholt <eric@...olt.net>,
	Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@...tuousgeek.org>,
	Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>
Subject: Re: [Bug #16891] Kernel panic while loading intel module during boot

On Monday, October 04, 2010, Anisse Astier wrote:
> On Mon, Oct 4, 2010 at 9:42 PM, Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@...k.pl> wrote:
> >> I'll provide this patch here in the meantime in case anyone is interested.
> >
> > Thanks for the update and the patch.
> >
> > Well, I wonder who's going to merge it?
> >
> 
> I'm not sure is going to be merged because most of this code has been
> re-written and has been sitting in drm-intel-next for a few weeks now.
> This (welcome) rewrite will likely be merged in 2.6.37 (but I can't
> speak for Chris).
> 
> This is a port of this patch:
> http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/ickle/drm-intel.git;a=commit;h=e5e408fc94595aab897f613b6f4e2f5b36870a6f
> , but on completely different code.
> 
> Also this patch is new and didn't see much testing (I tested on 4
> different Intel GPUs, belonging only to 2 different families); if it's
> not merged for 2.6.36, it won't be for 2.6.37 (the new code will land
> first). If that happens, it might not meet conditions to be accepted
> in -stable (being in linus' tree first).

It's a panic fix, so I think it is -stable material anyway.  Greg?

Thanks,
Rafael
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists