lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 20 Dec 2012 11:33:25 -0800
From:	Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
To:	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>
Cc:	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
	Loic Pallardy <loic.pallardy-ext@...ricsson.com>,
	arm@...nel.org, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Janusz Krzysztofik <jkrzyszt@....icnet.pl>,
	Omar Ramirez Luna <omar.ramirez@...itl.com>,
	Loic PALLARDY <loic.pallardy@...com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Ohad Ben-Cohen <ohad@...ery.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@...nsource.wolfsonmicro.com>,
	Dom Cobley <popcornmix@...il.com>,
	Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@...ana.be>, Suman Anna <s-anna@...com>,
	Juan Gutierrez <jgutierrez@...com>,
	Felipe Contreras <felipe.contreras@...ia.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
	STEricsson_nomadik_linux <STEricsson_nomadik_linux@...t.st.com>,
	Omar Ramirez Luna <omar.luna@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/9] drivers: mailbox: framework creation

* Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net> [121220 11:22]:
> On Thu, Dec 20, 2012 at 10:28 AM, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com> wrote:
> > * Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org> [121220 10:19]:
> >> On Tue, Dec 18, 2012 at 2:10 PM, Loic Pallardy
> >> <loic.pallardy-ext@...ricsson.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> > OMAP and ST-Ericsson platforms are both using mailbox to communicate
> >> > with some coprocessors.
> >> > Based on OMAP existing mailbox framework, this series proposes a
> >> > generic framework, living under drivers/mailbox.
> >>
> >> I like this patch series so you have my Acked-by.
> >>
> >> Since it's a new subsystem and affects a few ARM architectures can
> >> we merge this into the ARM SoC tree once we have consensus,
> >> so we get some rotation in linux-next that way?
> >
> > Yes good idea.
> >
> >> Olof/Arnd?
> >
> > I suggest we set up an immutable branch against
> > v3.8-rc1 when it's out with only these patches in it.
> > Then we can all merge it in as needed. Maybe Arnd or
> > Olof can set up the branch?
> 
> I haven't reviewed the patches yet, but this flow sounds reasonable to me.

OK cool.
 
> > FYI, looks like I need to merge in this branch too to
> > avoid build errors with remoteproc enabled once I flip
> > on the multiplatform support for omap2+.
> 
> While we can make the branch stable, would it make sense to make
> remoteproc for omap depend on !multiplatform during the transition, to
> reduce dependencies a little? Either way works, but it'd be nice to
> keep them independent if we can.

Yes I'll update the omap multiplat fixups patch I posted yesterday.
I noticed it only after running make randconfig for a while.

Regards,

Tony
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists