lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 23 Feb 2014 11:52:42 -0800
From:	Sebastian Capella <sebastian.capella@...aro.org>
To:	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
	"Russell King - ARM Linux" <linux@....linux.org.uk>
Cc:	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linaro-kernel@...ts.linaro.org" <linaro-kernel@...ts.linaro.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	"Russ Dill" <Russ.Dill@...com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	"Len Brown" <len.brown@...el.com>, "Pavel Machek" <pavel@....cz>,
	"Nicolas Pitre" <nico@...aro.org>,
	"Santosh Shilimkar" <santosh.shilimkar@...com>,
	"Will Deacon" <Will.Deacon@....com>,
	"Cyril Chemparathy" <cyril@...com>,
	"Jonathan Austin" <Jonathan.Austin@....com>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <Catalin.Marinas@....com>,
	"Uwe Kleine-K?nig" <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@...eaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC v1 3/3] ARM hibernation / suspend-to-disk

Quoting Lorenzo Pieralisi (2014-02-22 04:09:10)
> On Sat, Feb 22, 2014 at 10:38:40AM +0000, Russell King - ARM Linux wrote:
> > On Wed, Feb 19, 2014 at 04:12:54PM +0000, Lorenzo Pieralisi wrote:
> > > > + cpu_switch_mm(idmap_pgd, &init_mm);
> >
> > You need the idmap_pgd in place to call cpu_resume at it's physical
> > address.  Other page tables just won't do here.  It's well established
> > that this page table must be in place for the resume paths to work.
> 
> Well, we do not need idmap page tables for copying the restore_pblist,
> but we do need a set of tables that won't be corrupted by the copy and
> idmap does the trick (I was confused because 1:1 mappings are not needed
> for the copy itself).
> 
> The switch to idmap is done for us in soft_reboot anyway before jumping to
> cpu_resume and that's required, as you said.

Ok, so I'll leave the cpu_switch_mm as is for the next patchset.

Thanks Lorenzo, Russ and Russell!

Sebastian


--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists