lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 19 Mar 2014 21:02:32 +0000
From:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...retlab.ca>
To:	Rob Herring <robherring2@...il.com>
Cc:	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>,
	Matt Porter <matt.porter@...aro.org>,
	Koen Kooi <koen@...inion.thruhere.net>,
	Alison Chaiken <Alison_Chaiken@...tor.com>,
	Dinh Nguyen <dinh.linux@...il.com>,
	Jan Lubbe <jluebbe@...net.de>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@....com>,
	Michael Stickel <ms@...able.de>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
	Dirk Behme <dirk.behme@...il.com>,
	Alan Tull <delicious.quinoa@...il.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
	Michael Bohan <mbohan@...eaurora.org>,
	Ionut Nicu <ioan.nicu.ext@....com>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@...str.eu>,
	Matt Ranostay <mranostay@...il.com>,
	"devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Pete Popov <pete.popov@...sulko.com>,
	Dan Malek <dan.malek@...sulko.com>,
	Georgi Vlaev <georgi.vlaev@...sulko.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] OF: Add [__]of_find_node_by_full_name

On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 12:26 PM, Rob Herring <robherring2@...il.com> wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 18, 2014 at 4:52 PM, Pantelis Antoniou
> <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com> wrote:
>> __of_find_node_by_full_name recursively searches for a matching node
>> with the given full name without taking any locks.
>>
>> of_find_node_by_full_name takes locks and takes a reference on the
>> matching node.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>
>> ---
>>  drivers/of/base.c  | 58 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>>  include/linux/of.h |  4 ++++
>>  2 files changed, 62 insertions(+)
>>
>> diff --git a/drivers/of/base.c b/drivers/of/base.c
>> index 19bcdb4..08156e6 100644
>> --- a/drivers/of/base.c
>> +++ b/drivers/of/base.c
>> @@ -1142,6 +1142,64 @@ static void *of_find_property_value_of_size(const struct device_node *np,
>>  }
>>
>>  /**
>> + * __of_find_node_by_full_name - Find a node with the full name recursively
>> + * @node:      Root of the tree to perform the search
>> + * @full_name: Full name of the node to find.
>> + *
>> + * Find a node with the give full name by recursively following any of
>> + * the child node links.
>> + * Returns the matching node, or NULL if not found.
>> + * Note that the devtree lock is not taken, so this function is only
>> + * safe to call on either detached trees, or when devtree lock is already
>> + * taken.
>> + */
>> +struct device_node *__of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
>> +               const char *full_name)
>> +{
>> +       struct device_node *child, *found;
>> +
>> +       if (node == NULL)
>
> Just !node is preferred.
>
>> +               return NULL;
>> +
>> +       /* check */
>> +       if (of_node_cmp(node->full_name, full_name) == 0)
>> +               return node;
>> +
>> +       __for_each_child_of_node(node, child) {
>> +               found = __of_find_node_by_full_name(child, full_name);
>> +               if (found != NULL)
>
> "if (found)" is preferred.
>
>> +                       return found;
>> +       }
>> +
>> +       return NULL;
>> +}
>> +EXPORT_SYMBOL(__of_find_node_by_full_name);
>
> Does this need to be exported?
>
> In any case, use EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL.
>
>> +
>> +/**
>> + * of_find_node_by_full_name - Find a node with the full name recursively
>> + * @node:      Root of the tree to perform the search
>> + * @full_name: Full name of the node to find.
>> + *
>> + * Find a node with the give full name by recursively following any of
>> + * the child node links.
>> + * Returns the matching node (with a ref taken), or NULL if not found.
>> + */
>> +struct device_node *of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
>> +               const char *full_name)
>> +{
>> +       unsigned long flags;
>> +       struct device_node *np;
>> +
>> +       raw_spin_lock_irqsave(&devtree_lock, flags);
>> +       np = of_find_node_by_full_name(node, full_name);
>
> Don't you need __of_find_node_by_full_name here.

!?!  Did this code get tested?

g.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists