lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 21 Mar 2014 12:00:20 +0000
From:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...retlab.ca>
To:	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>
Cc:	Rob Herring <robherring2@...il.com>,
	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>,
	Matt Porter <matt.porter@...aro.org>,
	Koen Kooi <koen@...inion.thruhere.net>,
	Alison Chaiken <Alison_Chaiken@...tor.com>,
	Dinh Nguyen <dinh.linux@...il.com>,
	Jan Lubbe <jluebbe@...net.de>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@....com>,
	Michael Stickel <ms@...able.de>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
	Dirk Behme <dirk.behme@...il.com>,
	Alan Tull <delicious.quinoa@...il.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
	Michael Bohan <mbohan@...eaurora.org>,
	Ionut Nicu <ioan.nicu.ext@....com>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@...str.eu>,
	Matt Ranostay <mranostay@...il.com>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Pete Popov <pete.popov@...sulko.com>,
	Dan Malek <dan.malek@...sulko.com>,
	Georgi Vlaev <georgi.vlaev@...sulko.com>,
	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] OF: Add [__]of_find_node_by_full_name

On Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:52:40 +0200, Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com> wrote:
> __of_find_node_by_full_name recursively searches for a matching node
> with the given full name without taking any locks.
> 
> of_find_node_by_full_name takes locks and takes a reference on the
> matching node.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>

You should be able to use the of_find_node_by_path() patch as a base for
this one. You should be able to split of_find_node_by_path() so that the
core search going into this new function.

g.

> ---
>  drivers/of/base.c  | 58 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  include/linux/of.h |  4 ++++
>  2 files changed, 62 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/of/base.c b/drivers/of/base.c
> index 19bcdb4..08156e6 100644
> --- a/drivers/of/base.c
> +++ b/drivers/of/base.c
> @@ -1142,6 +1142,64 @@ static void *of_find_property_value_of_size(const struct device_node *np,
>  }
>  
>  /**
> + * __of_find_node_by_full_name - Find a node with the full name recursively
> + * @node:	Root of the tree to perform the search
> + * @full_name:	Full name of the node to find.
> + *
> + * Find a node with the give full name by recursively following any of
> + * the child node links.
> + * Returns the matching node, or NULL if not found.
> + * Note that the devtree lock is not taken, so this function is only
> + * safe to call on either detached trees, or when devtree lock is already
> + * taken.
> + */
> +struct device_node *__of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
> +		const char *full_name)
> +{
> +	struct device_node *child, *found;
> +
> +	if (node == NULL)
> +		return NULL;
> +
> +	/* check */
> +	if (of_node_cmp(node->full_name, full_name) == 0)
> +		return node;
> +
> +	__for_each_child_of_node(node, child) {
> +		found = __of_find_node_by_full_name(child, full_name);
> +		if (found != NULL)
> +			return found;
> +	}
> +
> +	return NULL;
> +}
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL(__of_find_node_by_full_name);
> +
> +/**
> + * of_find_node_by_full_name - Find a node with the full name recursively
> + * @node:	Root of the tree to perform the search
> + * @full_name:	Full name of the node to find.
> + *
> + * Find a node with the give full name by recursively following any of
> + * the child node links.
> + * Returns the matching node (with a ref taken), or NULL if not found.
> + */
> +struct device_node *of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
> +		const char *full_name)
> +{
> +	unsigned long flags;
> +	struct device_node *np;
> +
> +	raw_spin_lock_irqsave(&devtree_lock, flags);
> +	np = of_find_node_by_full_name(node, full_name);
> +	of_node_get(np);
> +	raw_spin_unlock_irqrestore(&devtree_lock, flags);
> +
> +	return np;
> +}
> +EXPORT_SYMBOL(of_find_node_by_full_name);
> +
> +/**
>   * of_property_read_u32_index - Find and read a u32 from a multi-value property.
>   *
>   * @np:		device node from which the property value is to be read.
> diff --git a/include/linux/of.h b/include/linux/of.h
> index a8b9dad..bef3d5b 100644
> --- a/include/linux/of.h
> +++ b/include/linux/of.h
> @@ -223,6 +223,10 @@ extern struct device_node *of_find_matching_node_and_match(
>  
>  extern struct device_node *of_find_node_by_path(const char *path);
>  extern struct device_node *of_find_node_by_phandle(phandle handle);
> +struct device_node *__of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
> +						const char *full_name);
> +struct device_node *of_find_node_by_full_name(struct device_node *node,
> +						const char *full_name);
>  extern struct device_node *of_get_parent(const struct device_node *node);
>  extern struct device_node *of_get_next_parent(struct device_node *node);
>  extern struct device_node *of_get_next_child(const struct device_node *node,
> -- 
> 1.7.12
> 

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists