lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:41:35 -0700
From:	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>
To:	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>
CC:	Mike Turquette <mturquette@...aro.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Lists linaro-kernel <linaro-kernel@...ts.linaro.org>,
	"linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
	Arvind Chauhan <arvind.chauhan@....com>,
	"linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
	Sachin Kamat <spk.linux@...il.com>,
	Thomas P Abraham <thomas.ab@...sung.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@...aro.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Nishanth Menon <nm@...com>, Tomasz Figa <t.figa@...sung.com>,
	"devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kukjin Kim <kgene.kim@...sung.com>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
	Rob Herring <rob.herring@...aro.org>,
	Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@...com>,
	Simon Horman <horms@...ge.net.au>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/14] cpufreq: cpu0: Extend support beyond CPU0, V2

On 07/07/14 21:50, Viresh Kumar wrote:
> On 4 July 2014 09:51, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org> wrote:
>> Yeah, having something like what you suggested from DT is the perfect
>> solution to get over this. The only reason why I am not touching that here
>> is to not delay other patches just because of that.
>>
>> There are separate threads going on for that and probably somebody
>> else was trying to push for that.
>>
>> That's it, nothing more. I would definitely like to use those bindings instead
>>  of the crazy routines we are trying here, once that is finalized :)
> Do we have some kind of agreement for this temporary solution? Anyways
> I will kick the other thread again to resolve the bindings soon.
>
> @Stephen: Do you still want find_rate_changer() stuff in this series only
> and or this can go into 3.17 without anymore changes and lets finalize
> the bindings Mike suggested and then update this code?
>
>

Finding the rate change is not necessary for me. I don't imagine my code
will be getting into 3.17 anyway though so I'm no in a rush to merge
anything immediately.

I still prefer the common clock framework API. If we go ahead with the
find_rate_changer() stuff we've pretty well insulated this driver from
any DTisms, which is nice. The only thing left would be
transition-latency and voltage-tolerance, but those are already optional
so you really don't need to even run on a DT enabled platform to use
this code.

-- 
Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of Code Aurora Forum,
hosted by The Linux Foundation

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists