lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:31:30 -0400
From:	Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@...com>
To:	Nishanth Menon <nm@...com>, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
	Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
CC:	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@...aro.org>,
	Lists linaro-kernel <linaro-kernel@...ts.linaro.org>,
	"linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
	Tomasz Figa <t.figa@...sung.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Thomas P Abraham <thomas.ab@...sung.com>,
	Arvind Chauhan <arvind.chauhan@....com>,
	Sachin Kamat <spk.linux@...il.com>,
	Dave Gerlach <d-gerlach@...com>,
	linux-omap <linux-omap@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 07/14] cpufreq: cpu0: OPPs can be populated at runtime

On Thursday 10 July 2014 08:39 AM, Nishanth Menon wrote:
> On Thu, Jul 10, 2014 at 6:19 AM, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org> wrote:
>> On 9 July 2014 20:14, Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@...com> wrote:
>>> Assuming you are updating bidnings as suggested by Stephen,
>>> patch looks good to me.
>>> Acked-by: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@...com>
>>
>> Why do you still have a separate cpufreq driver for omap?
>> Would this patch help getting that out?
>>
>> I see this for omap:
>>
>> static inline void omap_init_cpufreq(void)
>> {
>>         struct platform_device_info devinfo = { };
>>
>>         if (!of_have_populated_dt())
>>                 devinfo.name = "omap-cpufreq";
>>         else
>>                 devinfo.name = "cpufreq-generic";
>>         platform_device_register_full(&devinfo);
>> }
>>
>> and it makes me believe that you were just waiting for this patch?
> 
> Sorry, am away on vacation and slow on emails. The plan was to kill
> omap cpufreq once all platforms convert to device tree only boot. Only
> platform left is OMAP3 based platforms - though the date for removing
> non-dt support has changed a couple of kernel revisions - but we
> should be able to remove that entire file with this change.
> 
> We will need this support to go with the solution recommended for opp
> modifier series[1] - where platform code will populate or add OPPs
> based on "speed grade" sample detection.
>
Yep. Last time I blocked the series because all the DT conversions
were not done. Considering now the cpufreq-generic can work on non
DT platforms, I am ok to remove the omap-cpufreq.

Regards,
Santosh

 

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists