lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 11 Jul 2014 02:35:40 +0200
From:	Javier Martinez Canillas <javier@...hile0.org>
To:	Rob Jones <rob.jones@...ethink.co.uk>
Cc:	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
	Himangi Saraogi <himangi774@...il.com>,
	Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
	"linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de>,
	patches@...nsource.wolfsonmicro.com,
	"alsa-devel@...a-project.org" <alsa-devel@...a-project.org>,
	Eric Miao <eric.y.miao@...il.com>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Haojian Zhuang <haojian.zhuang@...il.com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	Philipp Zabel <philipp.zabel@...il.com>,
	Paul Parsons <lost.distance@...oo.com>,
	Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@...6.fr>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/5] gpiolib: devres: Introduce the function devm_request_gpio_array

Hello Rob,

On Thu, Jul 10, 2014 at 1:01 PM, Rob Jones <rob.jones@...ethink.co.uk> wrote:
>
>
> On 10/07/14 10:21, Linus Walleij wrote:
>>
>> On Wed, Jul 9, 2014 at 1:18 PM, Rob Jones <rob.jones@...ethink.co.uk>
>> wrote:
>>
>>> Please note that I submitted a patch on 02/07/14 to create this
>>> function which was acked by Linus Walleij on 05/07/14.
>>>
>>> Great minds think alike, and all that.
>>
>>
>> My mind certainly isn't any great :-(
>>
>
> I doubt that :-)
>
>
>> My left hand seems to be unaware of what the right hand is doing.
>>
>> Did I ACK that for merging through some other tree then?
>>
>
> You did: https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/7/4/715
>
>
>> And I guess if Himangi want to submit these ASoC patches, they
>> will have to go through the same tree as those patches in that case?
>>
>
> I don't know enough to comment.
>
>
>> And would you consider implementing a gpiod version...?
>>
>
> I will certainly consider it. I'm in the middle of something else right
> now but I should be available in a day or two and I'll have a look.
>
>

I'm working on a driver for a PMIC which uses a set of GPIO to select
a particular register. Right now I'm getting each GPIO independently
but Linus mentioned [0] the devm_gpio_request_array() patch you
posted.

Now, I'm not using the integer-based GPIO API but the new
descriptor-based one so I was wondering if you are already
implementing a devm_gpiod_get_array() or if you want me to implement
it myself.

Best regards,
Javier

[0]: https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/7/10/166
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists