lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 7 Aug 2014 14:19:45 +0800
From:	Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com>
To:	Matt Fleming <matt@...sole-pimps.org>
Cc:	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@...aro.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@...el.com>,
	Mark Salter <msalter@...hat.com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-efi@...r.kernel.org" <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] UEFI arm64: add noefi boot param

On 08/06/14 at 03:18pm, Matt Fleming wrote:
> On Wed, 06 Aug, at 04:10:45PM, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:
> > 
> > Shouldn't we clear the bit here if we failed to enable runtime
> > services for some reason? Other code may test the bit assuming that it
> > signifies that runtime services have been enabled successfully, while
> > this patch changes it to mean that we /intended/ to enable them, which
> > is not quite the same thing.
> 
> Yep, good catch. We need to do something similar for efi_runtime_init()
> on x86 too.

The current efi_runtime_init() enables the bit after getting the efi callback
phyaddr of SetVirtualAddressMap.

Thinking more about it, since SetVirtualAddressMap() could fail somehow it
seems better to set EFI_RUNTIME_SERIVCES bit only when enter virtual mode
return EFI_SUCCESS.

Does it make sense to you, Matt?

Thanks
Dave
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists