lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 7 Aug 2014 09:28:47 +0800
From:	Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com>
To:	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
Cc:	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@...el.com>,
	Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@...aro.org>,
	Mark Salter <msalter@...hat.com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] UEFI arm64: add noefi boot param

On 08/06/14 at 02:40pm, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:
> On 6 August 2014 10:38, Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com> wrote:
> >
> > Adding a noefi boot param like in X86 to disable efi runtime services support.
> >
> > This will be useful for debugging uefi problems. Also it will be useful
> > for later kexec/kdump work. Kexec on uefi support in X86 depends on a fixed vm
> > area specific for uefi runtime 1:1 mapping, kernel will switch to a different
> > page table for any uefi runtime callback in virtual mode. In arm64 similar
> > work probably is necessary. But kexec boot will just works with 'noefi' with
> > the limitaion of lacking runtime services. The runtime services is not critical
> > for kdump kernel for now. So as for kexec/kdump just leave the 1:1 mapping a
> > future work.
> >
> 
> Can we find a better name? You will still be using the UEFI memory map
> rather than the DT memory nodes (which will have been deleted by the
> stub), and things like SMBIOS and ACPI that hinge off UEFI remain
> enabled as well.
> 
Hi, Ard

Leif suggested efi=noruntime, I think that will be better to you?

Thanks for review.
Dave
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists