lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sat, 9 Aug 2014 19:06:43 +0200
From:	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>
To:	David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc:	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@...ux.intel.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Yinghai Lu <yinghai@...nel.org>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>, x86@...nel.org,
	Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
	Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-pci@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] x86/apic changes for v3.17

On Fri, Aug 08, 2014 at 03:21:44PM -0700, David Rientjes wrote:
> On Thu, 7 Aug 2014, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> 
> > Linus, please pull the latest x86-apic-for-linus git tree from:
> > 
> >    git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tip/tip.git x86-apic-for-linus
> > 
> >    # HEAD: 5e3bf215f4f2efc0af89e6dbc5da789744aeb5d7 x86/apic/vsmp: Make is_vsmp_box() static
> > 
> > 
> > The main changes in this cycle are:
> > 
> >     * Remove obsolete APIC driver abstractions. (David Rientjes)
> > 
> 
> These changes are unrelated from the other issues and can still be pulled 
> from
> 
> 	git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/rientjes/linux.git x86/apic 
> 
> if we want the cleanups for 3.17.  The x86 pull request was originally at 
> http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=140678961924050.
> 
> It would be a shame to miss out on that because the changes share the same 
> tip branch.

Actually, that whole branch could go in now, especially since Thomas
picked up the stable IRQ numbers assignment during s/r fix:

https://lkml.kernel.org/r/tip-3eec595235c17a74094daa1e02d1b0af2e9a7125@git.kernel.org

@tglx: I don't know about IOAPIC reference count:

https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1407209178-18644-3-git-send-email-jiang.liu@linux.intel.com

This looks like a bugfix too.

With those two applied, tip/x86/apic is good to go IMHO. The only thing
that remains are the IOMMU IOPFs which we'll deal accordingly later -
they need shutting up only anyway.

-- 
Regards/Gruss,
    Boris.

Sent from a fat crate under my desk. Formatting is fine.
--
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists