lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sat, 13 Dec 2014 20:46:42 +0100
From:	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
To:	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Cc:	Arend van Spriel <arend@...adcom.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
	Christian Daudt <bcm@...thebug.org>, linux-pci@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Matt Porter <mporter@...aro.org>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com,
	Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@...ke-m.de>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/4] pci: iProc: define Broadcom iProc PCIe binding

On Saturday 13 December 2014 11:05:52 Arend van Spriel wrote:
> 
> Makes sense. I think that is what Hauke meant by "adding
> additional support for registering to bcma". So the discovery info is a 
> piece of read-only memory in the chip. Its address is stored in the 
> chipcommon core register space. BCMA parses that memory blob resulting 
> in a list of cores which register address info. We could add DT support 
> in BCMA matching the compatible string and register a core for it.

Ah, interesting idea. That would mirror what we do for drivers/amba,
I like the idea.

> However, apart from the discovery info a "discoverable ARM AXI" chip has 
> a register space per core that provides common procedures like 
> enable/disable, reset, core status, which are implemented in BCMA. I am 
> not seeing that register space in the DT examples so I guess this IP 
> block is not there for iProc chips.

I wouldn't draw conclusions from the absence of some node. Maybe these
registers are present but just not used by the original BSP.

	Arnd
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists