lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 12 May 2017 11:15:12 +0800
From:   Minghsiu Tsai <minghsiu.tsai@...iatek.com>
To:     Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@...co.com>,
        <daniel.thompson@...aro.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@....samsung.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Daniel Kurtz <djkurtz@...omium.org>,
        Pawel Osciak <posciak@...omium.org>,
        Houlong Wei <houlong.wei@...iatek.com>
CC:     <srv_heupstream@...iatek.com>,
        Eddie Huang <eddie.huang@...iatek.com>,
        Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@...iatek.com>,
        Wu-Cheng Li <wuchengli@...gle.com>,
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>, <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Minghsiu Tsai <minghsiu.tsai@...iatek.com>
Subject: [PATCH 1/3] dt-bindings: mt8173: Fix mdp device tree

If the mdp_* nodes are under an mdp sub-node, their corresponding
platform device does not automatically get its iommu assigned properly.

Fix this by moving the mdp component nodes up a level such that they are
siblings of mdp and all other SoC subsystems.  This also simplifies the
device tree.

Although it fixes iommu assignment issue, it also break compatibility
with old device tree. So, the patch in driver is needed to iterate over
sibling mdp device nodes, not child ones, to keep driver work properly.

Signed-off-by: Minghsiu Tsai <minghsiu.tsai@...iatek.com>

---
 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-mdp.txt | 12 +++---------
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-mdp.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-mdp.txt
index 4182063..0d03e3a 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-mdp.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-mdp.txt
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@
 
 Media Data Path is used for scaling and color space conversion.
 
-Required properties (controller (parent) node):
+Required properties (controller node):
 - compatible: "mediatek,mt8173-mdp"
 - mediatek,vpu: the node of video processor unit, see
   Documentation/devicetree/bindings/media/mediatek-vpu.txt for details.
@@ -32,21 +32,16 @@ Required properties (DMA function blocks, child node):
   for details.
 
 Example:
-mdp {
-	compatible = "mediatek,mt8173-mdp";
-	#address-cells = <2>;
-	#size-cells = <2>;
-	ranges;
-	mediatek,vpu = <&vpu>;
-
 	mdp_rdma0: rdma@...01000 {
 		compatible = "mediatek,mt8173-mdp-rdma";
+			     "mediatek,mt8173-mdp";
 		reg = <0 0x14001000 0 0x1000>;
 		clocks = <&mmsys CLK_MM_MDP_RDMA0>,
 			 <&mmsys CLK_MM_MUTEX_32K>;
 		power-domains = <&scpsys MT8173_POWER_DOMAIN_MM>;
 		iommus = <&iommu M4U_PORT_MDP_RDMA0>;
 		mediatek,larb = <&larb0>;
+		mediatek,vpu = <&vpu>;
 	};
 
 	mdp_rdma1: rdma@...02000 {
@@ -106,4 +101,3 @@ mdp {
 		iommus = <&iommu M4U_PORT_MDP_WROT1>;
 		mediatek,larb = <&larb4>;
 	};
-};
-- 
1.9.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists