lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 2 Nov 2017 10:19:23 +0530
From:   Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>
To:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
Cc:     Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...nel.org>,
        Viresh Kumar <vireshk@...nel.org>, Nishanth Menon <nm@...com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>,
        Rafael Wysocki <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        "linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Rajendra Nayak <rnayak@...eaurora.org>,
        Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>,
        "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC V7 2/2] OPP: Allow "opp-hz" and "opp-microvolt" to contain
 magic values

On 01-11-17, 15:39, Rob Herring wrote:
> On Tue, Oct 31, 2017 at 9:17 PM, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org> wrote:
> > On 31 October 2017 at 16:02, Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org> wrote:
> >> Why not a new property for magic values? opp-magic? Don't we want to
> >> know when we have magic values?
> >
> > I have kept a separate property since beginning (domain-performance-state)
> > and moved to using these magic values in the existing field because of the
> > suggestion Kevin gave earlier.
> >
> > https://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=149306082218001&w=2
> >
> > I am not sure what to do now :)
> 
> Okay, I guess reusing the properties is fine.

Okay, great.

> >> Wouldn't magic values in opp-hz get propagated to user space?
> >
> > The OPP core puts them in debugfs just to know how the OPPs are
> > set. Otherwise, I am not sure that the power domain core/drivers would
> > be exposing that to user space.
> 
> I was thinking thru the cpufreq interface, but I guess this is not for cpus.

Oh no. That's not the target here for sure.

-- 
viresh

Powered by blists - more mailing lists