lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 03 Nov 2017 13:18:28 -0700
From:   Eric Anholt <eric@...olt.net>
To:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Matt Mackall <mpm@...enic.com>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
        Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
        "maintainer\:BROADCOM BCM281XX\/BCM11XXX\/BCM216XX ARM ARCHITE..." 
        <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@...e.com>,
        PrasannaKumar Muralidharan <prasannatsmkumar@...il.com>,
        Russell King <rmk+kernel@...linux.org.uk>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        Harald Freudenberger <freude@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Sean Wang <sean.wang@...iatek.com>,
        Martin Kaiser <martin@...ser.cx>,
        Steffen Trumtrar <s.trumtrar@...gutronix.de>,
        "open list\:HARDWARE RANDOM NUMBER GENERATOR CORE" 
        <linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list\:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "moderated list\:BROADCOM BCM2835 ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-rpi-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "moderated list\:BRO ADCOM BCM2835 ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 12/12] hwrng: bcm63xx-rng: Remove since bcm2835-rng takes over

Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com> writes:

> bcm2835-rng is now capable of supporting the BCM63xx hardware, so remove
> the driver which duplicates the same functionality.
>
> Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
> ---
>  drivers/char/hw_random/Kconfig       |  13 ---
>  drivers/char/hw_random/Makefile      |   1 -
>  drivers/char/hw_random/bcm63xx-rng.c | 154 -----------------------------------
>  3 files changed, 168 deletions(-)
>  delete mode 100644 drivers/char/hw_random/bcm63xx-rng.c
>

> diff --git a/drivers/char/hw_random/bcm63xx-rng.c b/drivers/char/hw_random/bcm63xx-rng.c
> deleted file mode 100644
> index 5132c9cde50d..000000000000
> --- a/drivers/char/hw_random/bcm63xx-rng.c
> +++ /dev/null

> -static int bcm63xx_rng_data_present(struct hwrng *rng, int wait)
> -{
> -	struct bcm63xx_rng_priv *priv = to_rng_priv(rng);
> -
> -	return __raw_readl(priv->regs + RNG_STAT) & RNG_AVAIL_MASK;
> -}

It looks like this method isn't in the 2835 implementation.  Should it
get ported over?

Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (833 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists