lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 8 Dec 2017 09:47:55 +0100
From:   Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>
To:     kemi <kemi.wang@...el.com>
Cc:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...hsingularity.net>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Christopher Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@...il.com>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@...e.com>,
        Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@...cle.com>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Dave <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@...el.com>,
        Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...el.com>,
        Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@...hat.com>,
        Ying Huang <ying.huang@...el.com>,
        Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@...el.com>, Aubrey Li <aubrey.li@...el.com>,
        Linux MM <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        Linux Kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] mm: NUMA stats code cleanup and enhancement

On Fri 08-12-17 16:38:46, kemi wrote:
> 
> 
> On 2017年11月30日 17:45, Michal Hocko wrote:
> > On Thu 30-11-17 17:32:08, kemi wrote:
> 
> > Do not get me wrong. If we want to make per-node stats more optimal,
> > then by all means let's do that. But having 3 sets of counters is just
> > way to much.
> > 
> 
> Hi, Michal
>   Apologize to respond later in this email thread.
> 
> After thinking about how to optimize our per-node stats more gracefully, 
> we may add u64 vm_numa_stat_diff[] in struct per_cpu_nodestat, thus,
> we can keep everything in per cpu counter and sum them up when read /proc
> or /sys for numa stats. 
> What's your idea for that? thanks

I would like to see a strong argument why we cannot make it a _standard_
node counter.
-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

Powered by blists - more mailing lists