lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 20 Dec 2017 09:57:47 +0100
From:   Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
To:     Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@....com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Paul Turner <pjt@...gle.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@....com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Todd Kjos <tkjos@...roid.com>,
        Joel Fernandes <joelaf@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/4] sched/fair: add util_est on top of PELT

On Fri, Dec 15, 2017 at 03:41:40PM +0000, Patrick Bellasi wrote:
> Close enough, the actual code is:
> 
>         util_est = p->util_est.ewma;
>     5218:       f9403ba3        ldr     x3, [x29,#112]
>     521c:       f9418462        ldr     x2, [x3,#776]
>         if (abs(util_est - util_last) <= (SCHED_CAPACITY_SCALE / 100))
>     5220:       eb010040        subs    x0, x2, x1
>     5224:       da805400        cneg    x0, x0, mi
>     5228:       f100281f        cmp     x0, #0xa
>     522c:       54fff9cd        b.le    5164 <dequeue_task_fair+0xa04>

Ah, that cneg instruction is cute; on x86 we end up with something like:

bool abs_test(long s)
{
        return abs(s) < 32;
}

        cmpl    $-31, %eax
        jl      .L107
        movq    -8(%rbp), %rax
        cmpl    $31, %eax
        jg      .L107
        movl    $1, %eax
        jmp     .L108
.L107:
        movl    $0, %eax
.L108:


But I figured you can actually do:

	abs(x) < y := (unsigned)(x + y - 1) < (2 * y - 1)

Which, if y is a constant, should result in nicer code, and it does for
x86:

        addq    $31, %rax
        cmpq    $62, %rax
        setbe   %al
        movzbl  %al, %eax

Just not measurably faster, I suppose because of all the dependencies :/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists