lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 20 Dec 2017 12:54:04 +0200
From:   Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@...mer.com>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc:     Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
        Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        Cezary Jackiewicz <cezary.jackiewicz@...il.com>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Sebastian Ott <sebott@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        James Smart <james.smart@...adcom.com>,
        Dick Kennedy <dick.kennedy@...adcom.com>,
        Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@...il.com>,
        Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@...el.com>,
        Felipe Balbi <balbi@...nel.org>,
        "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...com>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org, linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-serial@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-usb@...r.kernel.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
        alsa-devel@...a-project.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [-next PATCH 2/4] treewide: Use DEVICE_ATTR_RW

On Wed, Dec 20, 2017 at 10:32:11AM +0100, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> On Wed, Dec 20, 2017 at 01:24:44AM -0800, Joe Perches wrote:
> > On Wed, 2017-12-20 at 10:34 +0200, Jarkko Nikula wrote:
> > > On Tue, Dec 19, 2017 at 10:15:07AM -0800, Joe Perches wrote:
> > > > Convert DEVICE_ATTR uses to DEVICE_ATTR_RW where possible.
> > [] 
> > > > diff --git a/sound/soc/omap/mcbsp.c b/sound/soc/omap/mcbsp.c
> > []
> > > > @@ -854,7 +854,7 @@ static ssize_t dma_op_mode_store(struct device *dev,
> > > >  	return size;
> > > >  }
> > > >  
> > > > -static DEVICE_ATTR(dma_op_mode, 0644, dma_op_mode_show, dma_op_mode_store);
> > > > +static DEVICE_ATTR_RW(dma_op_mode);
> > > >  
> > > 
> > > While I can ack this part here if it helps generic cleanup effort I
> > > don't understart would it improve code readability in general? Mode 644
> > > is clear and don't need any grepping but for DEVICE_ATTR_RW() I had to go
> > > through all of these files in order to see what does it mean:
> 
> Yeah, 644 is "clear", but _RW() is even more clear.  Ideally I want to
> get rid of all of the "non-standard" users that set random modes of
> sysfs files, as we get it wrong too many times.  Using the "defaults" is
> much better.
> 
Fair enough. For the sound/soc/omap/ (Acked-by was missing from my
previous reply):

Acked-by: Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@...mer.com>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists