lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 20 Dec 2017 02:55:07 -0800
From:   Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@...6.fr>
Cc:     Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@...mer.com>,
        Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        Cezary Jackiewicz <cezary.jackiewicz@...il.com>,
        Darren Hart <dvhart@...radead.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy@...radead.org>,
        Sebastian Ott <sebott@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        James Smart <james.smart@...adcom.com>,
        Dick Kennedy <dick.kennedy@...adcom.com>,
        Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@...el.com>,
        Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@...il.com>,
        Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@...el.com>,
        Felipe Balbi <balbi@...nel.org>,
        "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@...com>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org, linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-serial@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-usb@...r.kernel.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
        alsa-devel@...a-project.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [-next PATCH 2/4] treewide: Use DEVICE_ATTR_RW

On Wed, 2017-12-20 at 10:59 +0100, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> > > Why you didn't send that patch to the sysfs maintainer is a bit odd...  :)
> > 
> > So here's an opportunity for you:
> > 
> > The sysfs maintainer hasn't added include/linux/sysfs.h to
> > the list of maintained files...
> > 
> > DRIVER CORE, KOBJECTS, DEBUGFS AND SYSFS
> > M:	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
> > T:	git git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/gregkh/driver-core.git
> > S:	Supported
> > F:	Documentation/kobject.txt
> > F:	drivers/base/
> > F:	fs/debugfs/
> > F:	fs/sysfs/
> > F:	include/linux/debugfs.h
> > F:	include/linux/kobj*
> > F:	lib/kobj*
> 
> Heh, good point, but using get_maintainer.pl does put me at the top of
> the list that you should be cc:ing:
> 
> $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl --file include/linux/sysfs.h
> Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org> (commit_signer:3/3=100%,authored:2/3=67%,added_lines:7/8=88%)
> Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org> (commit_signer:1/3=33%)
> Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de> (commit_signer:1/3=33%)
> Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com> (commit_signer:1/3=33%)
> Nick Desaulniers <nick.desaulniers@...il.com> (commit_signer:1/3=33%,authored:1/3=33%,added_lines:1/8=12%,removed_lines:1/1=100%)
> linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org (open list)

The script I use to send patches adds --nogit --nogit-fallback
to copy only listed maintainers because people that send cleanup
patches don't generally like to get random patches.

> > btw: there are many uses of a reversed declaration style of DEVICE_ATTR
> > 
> > Here's another thing that could be done for more DEVICE_ATTR_<FOO> uses.
> > 
> > ===
> > 
> > Some DEVICE_ATTR definitions use a reversed static function form from
> > the typical.  Convert them to use the more common macro form so it is
> > easier to grep for the style.
[]
> > $ git grep --name-only -w DEVICE_ATTR | \
> >   xargs perl -i dev_attr_rw_backwards.perl
> Ah, nice, I love perl :

That was a bad copy/paste of the script.

The actual script for RW is:

$ cat dev_attr_rw_backwards.perl
local $/;
while (<>) {
    my $file = $_;
    while ($file =~ m/\bDEVICE_ATTR\s*\(\s*(\w+)\s*,/g) {
	my $var = $1;
	if ($file =~ s/\bDEVICE_ATTR\s*\(\s*${var}\s*,\s*\(?(\s*S_IRUGO\s*\|\s*S_IWUSR|\s*S_IWUSR\s*\|\s*S_IRUGO\s*|\s*0644\s*)\)?\s*,\s*show_${var}\s*,\s*store_${var}\s*\)/DEVICE_ATTR_RW(${var})/g) {
	    $file =~ s/\bshow_${var}\b/${var}_show/g;
	    $file =~ s/\bstore_${var}\b/${var}_store/g;
	}
    }
    print $file;
}

There are 3 different perl scripts for rw, ro, and wo.
and these scripts, because of function renaming and
possible reuse of the original function names by other
string concatenated macros, create some bad conversions
so they need some manual cleanups too.

Perhaps coccinelle could do a better job of it, but
likely string concatenation macro uses are going to
be hard to deal with in any case.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists