lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 27 Apr 2018 13:32:13 -0500
From:   Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>
To:     Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>
Cc:     Andy Gross <andy.gross@...aro.org>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux-ALSA <alsa-devel@...a-project.org>,
        Banajit Goswami <bgoswami@...eaurora.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        David Brown <david.brown@...aro.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Patrick Lai <plai@...eaurora.org>,
        Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.com>,
        Jaroslav Kysela <perex@...ex.cz>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, rohkumar@....qualcomm.com,
        spatakok@....qualcomm.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 04/24] ASoC: qdsp6: dt-bindings: Add q6afe dt bindings

On Fri, Apr 27, 2018 at 9:58 AM, Srinivas Kandagatla
<srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org> wrote:
> Thanks for the review.
>
>
> On 27/04/18 15:13, Rob Herring wrote:
>>
>> On Thu, Apr 26, 2018 at 10:45:46AM +0100, srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org
>> wrote:
>>>
>>> From: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>
>>>
>>> This patch add DT bindings for AFE (Audio Frontend) DSP module.
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>
>>> Reviewed-and-tested-by: Rohit kumar <rohitkr@...eaurora.org>
>>> ---
>>>   .../devicetree/bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.txt       | 88
>>> ++++++++++++++++++++++
>>>   include/dt-bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.h             | 31 ++++++++
>>>   2 files changed, 119 insertions(+)
>>>   create mode 100644
>>> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.txt
>>>   create mode 100644 include/dt-bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.h
>>>
>>> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.txt
>>> b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.txt
>>> new file mode 100644
>>> index 000000000000..05208a63dd3c
>>> --- /dev/null
>>> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/sound/qcom,q6afe.txt
>>> @@ -0,0 +1,88 @@
>>> +Qualcomm Audio Front End (Q6AFE) binding
>>> +
>>> +AFE is one of the APR audio service on Q6DSP
>>> +Please refer to qcom,apr.txt for details of the common apr service
>>> bindings
>>> +used by all apr services.
>>> +
>>> +- but must contain the following property:
>>> +
>>> +- compatible:
>>> +       Usage: required
>>> +       Value type: <stringlist>
>>> +       Definition: must be "qcom,q6afe-v<MAJOR-NUMBER>.<MINOR-NUMBER>"
>>> +                 Or "qcom,q6afe" where the version number can be queried
>>> +                 from DSP.
>>> +                 example "qcom,q6afe"
>>
>>
>> reg too.
>
>
> I did not want to repeat what is already mandated for apr children in
> qcom,apr.txt
> So skipped repeating reg property in here.

Okay.

>>> +
>>> += AFE DAIs (Digial Audio Interface)
>>> +"dais" subnode of the AFE node represents dai specific configuration
>>> +
>>> +- #sound-dai-cells
>>> +       Usage: required
>>> +       Value type: <u32>
>>> +       Definition: Must be 1
>>> +
>>> +- reg
>>
>>
>> It's not clear here these are in a grandchild node.
>>
> Every afe port/dai has some board specifics, to allow that we need dai
> specific child nodes.

Yes, but what I mean is #sound-dai-cells is a property of the dais
node, but reg and qcom,sd-lines are properties of child nodes under
the dais node. It is evident in the example, but not without the
example.

Also, anywhere with reg needs #address-cells and #size-cells in the parent node.

Rob

Powered by blists - more mailing lists