lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 11 Jan 2019 14:27:21 -0800
From:   Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>
To:     Rob Clark <robdclark@...il.com>,
        Jordan Crouse <jcrouse@...eaurora.org>
Cc:     Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Stephen Boyd <swboyd@...omium.org>,
        Rajendra Nayak <rnayak@...eaurora.org>,
        Andy Gross <andy.gross@...aro.org>,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        "Kristian H . Kristensen" <hoegsberg@...omium.org>,
        Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        Sharat Masetty <smasetty@...eaurora.org>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        freedreno@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        Mamta Shukla <mamtashukla555@...il.com>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>
Subject: [PATCH] drm/msm: Fix A6XX support for opp-level

The bindings for Qualcomm opp levels changed after being Acked but
before landing.  Thus the code in the GPU that was relying on the old
bindings is now broken.

While we could just change the string 'qcom,level' to the string
'opp-level', it actually seems better to use the newly-introduced
dev_pm_opp_get_level().

This patch thus has a hard dependency on the outstanding patch ("OPP:
Add support for parsing the 'opp-level' property") and will need to
land in a tree that contains that patch.

This patch needs to land before the patch ("arm64: dts: sdm845: Add
gpu and gmu device nodes") since if a tree contains the device tree
patch but not this one you'll get a crash at bootup.

Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>
---

 drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a6xx_gmu.c | 17 ++++++-----------
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a6xx_gmu.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a6xx_gmu.c
index 5beb83d1cf87..900f18dc1577 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a6xx_gmu.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a6xx_gmu.c
@@ -928,25 +928,20 @@ static int a6xx_gmu_memory_probe(struct a6xx_gmu *gmu)
 }
 
 /* Return the 'arc-level' for the given frequency */
-static u32 a6xx_gmu_get_arc_level(struct device *dev, unsigned long freq)
+static unsigned int a6xx_gmu_get_arc_level(struct device *dev,
+					   unsigned long freq)
 {
 	struct dev_pm_opp *opp;
-	struct device_node *np;
-	u32 val = 0;
+	unsigned int val;
 
 	if (!freq)
 		return 0;
 
-	opp  = dev_pm_opp_find_freq_exact(dev, freq, true);
+	opp = dev_pm_opp_find_freq_exact(dev, freq, true);
 	if (IS_ERR(opp))
 		return 0;
 
-	np = dev_pm_opp_get_of_node(opp);
-
-	if (np) {
-		of_property_read_u32(np, "qcom,level", &val);
-		of_node_put(np);
-	}
+	val = dev_pm_opp_get_level(opp);
 
 	dev_pm_opp_put(opp);
 
@@ -982,7 +977,7 @@ static int a6xx_gmu_rpmh_arc_votes_init(struct device *dev, u32 *votes,
 	/* Construct a vote for each frequency */
 	for (i = 0; i < freqs_count; i++) {
 		u8 pindex = 0, sindex = 0;
-		u32 level = a6xx_gmu_get_arc_level(dev, freqs[i]);
+		unsigned int level = a6xx_gmu_get_arc_level(dev, freqs[i]);
 
 		/* Get the primary index that matches the arc level */
 		for (j = 0; j < pri_count; j++) {
-- 
2.20.1.97.g81188d93c3-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists