lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 15 Jan 2019 23:47:13 +0100
From:   Wolfram Sang <wsa@...-dreams.de>
To:     Jae Hyun Yoo <jae.hyun.yoo@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     Brendan Higgins <brendanhiggins@...gle.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Joel Stanley <joel@....id.au>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Andrew Jeffery <andrew@...id.au>, linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org,
        openbmc@...ts.ozlabs.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-aspeed@...ts.ozlabs.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        James Feist <james.feist@...ux.intel.com>,
        Vernon Mauery <vernon.mauery@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH i2c-next v9 0/5] i2c: aspeed: Add bus idle waiting logic
 for multi-master use cases

On Tue, Oct 30, 2018 at 02:09:11PM -0700, Jae Hyun Yoo wrote:
> In multi-master environment, this driver's master cannot know
> exactly when a peer master sends data to this driver's slave so a
> case can be happened that this master tries to send data through
> the master_xfer function but slave data from peer master is still
> being processed by this driver. To prevent state corruption in the
> case, this patch adds checking code if any slave operation is
> ongoing and it waits up to the bus timeout duration before starting
> a master_xfer operation.
> 
> To support this change, it introduces changes on i2c-core-base to
> make that able to read the bus timeout and master transfer retries
> count values from device tree properties.
> 
> Please review this patch set.

Marking this as "Changes requested". I think if the mutex approach
works, these patches become obsolete then.


Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (834 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists