lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 27 Feb 2019 18:40:12 +0100
From:   Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>
To:     Steven Price <steven.price@....com>
Cc:     linux-mm@...ck.org, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        James Morse <james.morse@....com>,
        Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, x86@...nel.org,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Mark Rutland <Mark.Rutland@....com>,
        "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        linux-s390@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 18/34] s390: mm: Add p?d_large() definitions

On Wed, 27 Feb 2019 17:05:52 +0000
Steven Price <steven.price@....com> wrote:

> walk_page_range() is going to be allowed to walk page tables other than
> those of user space. For this it needs to know when it has reached a
> 'leaf' entry in the page tables. This information is provided by the
> p?d_large() functions/macros.
> 
> For s390, we don't support large pages, so add a stub returning 0.

Well s390 does support 1MB and 2GB large pages, pmd_large() and pud_large()
are non-empty. We do not support 4TB or 8PB large pages though, which
makes the patch itself correct. Just the wording is slightly off.
 
> CC: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>
> CC: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>
> CC: linux-s390@...r.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@....com>
> ---
>  arch/s390/include/asm/pgtable.h | 10 ++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 10 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/arch/s390/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/s390/include/asm/pgtable.h
> index 063732414dfb..9617f1fb69b4 100644
> --- a/arch/s390/include/asm/pgtable.h
> +++ b/arch/s390/include/asm/pgtable.h
> @@ -605,6 +605,11 @@ static inline int pgd_present(pgd_t pgd)
>  	return (pgd_val(pgd) & _REGION_ENTRY_ORIGIN) != 0UL;
>  }
> 
> +static inline int pgd_large(pgd_t pgd)
> +{
> +	return 0;
> +}
> +
>  static inline int pgd_none(pgd_t pgd)
>  {
>  	if (pgd_folded(pgd))
> @@ -645,6 +650,11 @@ static inline int p4d_present(p4d_t p4d)
>  	return (p4d_val(p4d) & _REGION_ENTRY_ORIGIN) != 0UL;
>  }
> 
> +static inline int p4d_large(p4d_t p4d)
> +{
> +	return 0;
> +}
> +
>  static inline int p4d_none(p4d_t p4d)
>  {
>  	if (p4d_folded(p4d))


-- 
blue skies,
   Martin.

"Reality continues to ruin my life." - Calvin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists