lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 23 Mar 2019 21:06:56 +0100
From:   Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
To:     Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch>
Cc:     Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
        Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
        bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Kukjin Kim <kgene@...nel.org>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        Santosh Shilimkar <ssantosh@...nel.org>,
        Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>,
        Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@...il.com>,
        Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>,
        Marc Gonzalez <marc.w.gonzalez@...e.fr>,
        Mans Rullgard <mans@...sr.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] ARM: use arch_extension directive instead of arch argument

On Sat, Mar 23, 2019 at 4:52 PM Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch> wrote:
>
> The LLVM Target parser currently does not allow to specify the security
> extension as part of -march (see also LLVM Bug 40186 [0]). When trying
> to use Clang with LLVM's integrated assembler, this leads to a build
> errors such as this:
>   clang-8: error: the clang compiler does not support '-Wa,-march=armv7-a+sec'
>
> Use ".arch_extension sec" to enable the security extension in a more
> portable fasion.
>
> Note that this is technically not exactly the same as the old code
> checked for availabilty of the security extension by calling as-instr.
> However, there are already other sites which use ".arch_extension sec"
> unconditionally, hence de-facto we need an assembler capable of
> ".arch_extension sec" already today (arch/arm/mm/proc-v7.S). The
> arch extension "sec" is available since binutils 2.21 according to
> its documentation [1].
>
> [0] https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=40186
> [1] https://sourceware.org/binutils/docs-2.21/as/ARM-Options.html
>
> Signed-off-by: Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch>

This sounds like a good idea. I think we have platform specific
minimum toolchain versions elsewhere, but I don't see a problem
with raising the minimum version for all the armv7ve platforms.

I've added this patch to my randconfig test queue, but please
send it to arm@...nel.org for inclusion when you have
collected more Acks.

Do you have a git tree with other patches required for the
integrated assembler? I might try that out as well with
my randconfig tree. At the moment I'm building with
clang-8 and a small number of patches on top.

Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists