lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 8 Apr 2019 19:05:16 -0700
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
        Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@...el.com>,
        Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@...el.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri@...el.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Don Zickus <dzickus@...hat.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Babu Moger <babu.moger@...cle.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v2 08/14] watchdog/hardlockup: Decouple the
 hardlockup detector from perf

On Tue, Mar 26, 2019 at 10:18:32PM +0100, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> On Wed, 27 Feb 2019, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> > +// SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
> > +/*
> > + * Detect hard lockups on a system
> > + *
> > + * Copyright (C) Intel Corporation 2019
> > + *
> > + * Note: All of this code comes from the original perf-specific hardlockup
> > + * detector.
> 
> And because you copied it from there without modification this becomes
> automatically Copyrighted by Intel?

Yes, it does not look correct.

> 
> May I recommend that you talk to your legal departement about this.
> 
> Aside of that there is really no value in creating yet another file. The
> code in question can simply wrapped into a large #ifdef PERF in the old
> file.

Sure, I'll implement the change in this manner.

Thanks and BR,
Ricardo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists