lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 8 Apr 2019 19:05:30 -0700
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc:     "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
        Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@...el.com>,
        Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@...el.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri@...el.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Don Zickus <dzickus@...hat.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Babu Moger <babu.moger@...cle.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@....com>,
        "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Davidlohr Bueso <dave@...olabs.net>,
        Christoffer Dall <cdall@...aro.org>,
        Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
        Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@...onical.com>,
        Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v2 09/14] watchdog/hardlockup: Make
 arch_touch_nmi_watchdog() to hpet-based implementation

On Tue, Mar 26, 2019 at 10:20:41PM +0100, Thomas Gleixner wrote:
> On Thu, 28 Feb 2019, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> > > > 
> > > > -#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
> > > > +#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF) || \
> > > > +    defined(CONFIG_X86_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET)
> > > 
> > > Why not instead make CONFIG_X86_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET select
> > > CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF?  Keep the arch-specific details
> > > in the arch-specific files and all that.
> > 
> > Thanks for your feedback, Paul! The HPET implementation does not use
> > perf. Thus, in my opinion is not correct for the HPET HLD to select
> > the perf implementation. Patch 8 of this series splits the perf-specific
> > code and the generic hardlockup detector code. Does this make sense?
> 
> That's what intermediate config symbols are for.
> 
> config HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_CORE
>        bool
> 
> And make both PERF and HPET select it.

I'll implement it in this manner.

Thanks and BR,
Ricardo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists