lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 12 Apr 2019 09:26:44 +0300
From:   Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
To:     Raul E Rangel <rrangel@...omium.org>,
        linux-trace-devel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     djkurtz@...omium.org, zwisler@...omium.org,
        Ludovic Barre <ludovic.barre@...com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Jisheng Zhang <Jisheng.Zhang@...aptics.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Faiz Abbas <faiz_abbas@...com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Oleksij Rempel <linux@...pel-privat.de>,
        Liming Sun <lsun@...lanox.com>,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@...g-engineering.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Prabu Thangamuthu <Prabu.T@...opsys.com>,
        Chunyan Zhang <chunyan.zhang@...soc.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 0/4] Add tracing for SDHCI register access

On 12/04/19 1:08 AM, Raul E Rangel wrote:
> I was debugging a SDHC hardware bug and got tired of having to
> translate the register values by hand. This patch set makes it so all
> SDHC register read and write operations can be traced and easily read by
> a human.

While this might be useful for people unfamiliar with SDHCI, I am not sure
it should be in the upstream kernel.  Also, it doesn't seem ideal for every
driver to add its own plumbing for such a feature.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists