lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 4 May 2019 08:49:38 +0200
From:   Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
To:     Max Gurtovoy <maxg@...lanox.com>
Cc:     Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
        Maxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@...hat.com>,
        Fam Zheng <fam@...hon.net>, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
        Wolfram Sang <wsa@...-dreams.de>,
        linux-nvme@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Keith Busch <keith.busch@...el.com>,
        Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@...dia.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>,
        "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>,
        Sagi Grimberg <sagi@...mberg.me>,
        Liang Cunming <cunming.liang@...el.com>,
        Jens Axboe <axboe@...com>,
        Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@...hat.com>,
        John Ferlan <jferlan@...hat.com>,
        Liu Changpeng <changpeng.liu@...el.com>,
        Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...rochip.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Amnon Ilan <ailan@...hat.com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 06/10] nvme/core: add mdev interfaces

On Fri, May 03, 2019 at 10:00:54PM +0300, Max Gurtovoy wrote:
> Don't see a big difference of taking NVMe queue and namespace/partition to 
> guest OS or to P2P since IO is issued by external entity and pooled outside 
> the pci driver.

We are not going to the queue aside either way..  That is where the
last patch in this series is already working to, and which would be
the sensible vhost model to start with.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists