lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Apr 2020 15:31:37 +0000
From:   Schrempf Frieder <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
To:     Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>,
        Adam Ford <aford173@...il.com>,
        Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@....com>,
        Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@...il.com>,
        Daniel Baluta <daniel.baluta@....com>,
        "Fabio Estevam" <festevam@...il.com>,
        Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@....com>,
        "Li Jun" <jun.li@....com>, NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@....com>,
        Peng Fan <peng.fan@....com>,
        Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        "Russell King" <linux+etnaviv@...linux.org.uk>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        "S.j. Wang" <shengjiu.wang@....com>
CC:     "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org" <dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        "etnaviv@...ts.freedesktop.org" <etnaviv@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] drm/etnaviv: Prevent IRQ triggering at probe time
 on i.MX8MM

Hi Lucas,

On 30.04.20 16:32, Lucas Stach wrote:
> Hi Frieder,
> 
> Am Donnerstag, den 30.04.2020, 12:46 +0000 schrieb Schrempf Frieder:
>> From: Frieder Schrempf <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
>>
>> On i.MX8MM there is an interrupt getting triggered immediately after
>> requesting the IRQ, which leads to a stall as the handler accesses
>> the GPU registers whithout the clock being enabled.
>>
>> Enabling the clocks briefly seems to clear the IRQ state, so we do
>> this before requesting the IRQ.
> 
> This is most likely caused by improper power-up sequencing. Normally
> the GPC will trigger a hardware reset of the modules inside a power
> domain when the domain is powered on. This requires the clocks to be
> running at this point, as those resets are synchronous, so need clock
> pulses to propagate through the hardware.

Ok, I was suspecting something like that and your explanation makes 
total sense to me.

> 
>  From what I see the i.MX8MM is still missing the power domain
> controller integration, but I'm pretty confident that this problem
> should be solved in the power domain code, instead of the GPU driver.

Ok. I was hoping that GPU support could be added without power domain 
control, but I now see that this is probably not reasonable at all.
So I will keep on hoping that NXP comes up with an upstreamable solution 
for the power domain handling.

Thanks,
Frieder

> 
> Regards,
> Lucas
> 
>> Signed-off-by: Frieder Schrempf <frieder.schrempf@...tron.de>
>> ---
>>   drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_gpu.c | 29 ++++++++++++++++++++-----
>> --
>>   1 file changed, 22 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)
>>
>> diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_gpu.c
>> b/drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_gpu.c
>> index a31eeff2b297..23877c1f150a 100644
>> --- a/drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_gpu.c
>> +++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_gpu.c
>> @@ -1775,13 +1775,6 @@ static int etnaviv_gpu_platform_probe(struct
>> platform_device *pdev)
>>   		return gpu->irq;
>>   	}
>>   
>> -	err = devm_request_irq(&pdev->dev, gpu->irq, irq_handler, 0,
>> -			       dev_name(gpu->dev), gpu);
>> -	if (err) {
>> -		dev_err(dev, "failed to request IRQ%u: %d\n", gpu->irq,
>> err);
>> -		return err;
>> -	}
>> -
>>   	/* Get Clocks: */
>>   	gpu->clk_reg = devm_clk_get(&pdev->dev, "reg");
>>   	DBG("clk_reg: %p", gpu->clk_reg);
>> @@ -1805,6 +1798,28 @@ static int etnaviv_gpu_platform_probe(struct
>> platform_device *pdev)
>>   		gpu->clk_shader = NULL;
>>   	gpu->base_rate_shader = clk_get_rate(gpu->clk_shader);
>>   
>> +	/*
>> +	 * On i.MX8MM there is an interrupt getting triggered
>> immediately
>> +	 * after requesting the IRQ, which leads to a stall as the
>> handler
>> +	 * accesses the GPU registers whithout the clock being enabled.
>> +	 * Enabling the clocks briefly seems to clear the IRQ state, so
>> we do
>> +	 * this here before requesting the IRQ.
>> +	 */
>> +	err = etnaviv_gpu_clk_enable(gpu);
>> +	if (err)
>> +		return err;
>> +
>> +	err = etnaviv_gpu_clk_disable(gpu);
>> +	if (err)
>> +		return err;
>> +
>> +	err = devm_request_irq(&pdev->dev, gpu->irq, irq_handler, 0,
>> +			       dev_name(gpu->dev), gpu);
>> +	if (err) {
>> +		dev_err(dev, "failed to request IRQ%u: %d\n", gpu->irq,
>> err);
>> +		return err;
>> +	}
>> +
>>   	/* TODO: figure out max mapped size */
>>   	dev_set_drvdata(dev, gpu);
>>   
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists