lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue,  5 May 2020 18:59:05 +0530
From:   Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
To:     "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux.cj@...il.com, Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@....com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Cristi Sovaiala <cristian.sovaiala@....com>,
        Florin Laurentiu Chiculita <florinlaurentiu.chiculita@....com>,
        Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@....com>,
        Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....nxp.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     Varun Sethi <V.Sethi@....com>,
        "Rajesh V . Bikkina" <rajesh.bikkina@....com>,
        linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Diana Madalina Craciun <diana.craciun@....com>,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org, Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@....com>,
        Makarand Pawagi <makarand.pawagi@....com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Pankaj Bansal <pankaj.bansal@....com>,
        Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@...il.com>
Subject: [net-next PATCH v3 5/5] net: mdiobus: Introduce fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy()

Introduce fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy() to register PHYs on the
mdiobus. From the compatible string, identify whether the PHY is
c45 and based on this create a PHY device instance which is
registered on the mdiobus.

Signed-off-by: Calvin Johnson <calvin.johnson@....nxp.com>
---

Changes in v3:
  Introduce two functions to register phy to mdiobus using fwnode

Changes in v2: None

 drivers/net/phy/mdio_bus.c | 41 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/mdio.h       |  2 ++
 2 files changed, 43 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/net/phy/mdio_bus.c b/drivers/net/phy/mdio_bus.c
index 3e79b96fa344..b51e597c0479 100644
--- a/drivers/net/phy/mdio_bus.c
+++ b/drivers/net/phy/mdio_bus.c
@@ -106,6 +106,47 @@ int mdiobus_unregister_device(struct mdio_device *mdiodev)
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(mdiobus_unregister_device);
 
+int fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy(struct mii_bus *bus,
+				struct fwnode_handle *child, u32 addr)
+{
+	struct phy_device *phy;
+	bool is_c45 = false;
+	const char *cp;
+	u32 phy_id;
+	int rc;
+
+	fwnode_property_read_string(child, "compatible", &cp);
+	if (!strcmp(cp, "ethernet-phy-ieee802.3-c45"))
+		is_c45 = true;
+
+	if (!is_c45 && !fwnode_get_phy_id(child, &phy_id))
+		phy = phy_device_create(bus, addr, phy_id, 0, NULL);
+	else
+		phy = get_phy_device(bus, addr, is_c45);
+	if (IS_ERR(phy))
+		return PTR_ERR(phy);
+
+	phy->irq = bus->irq[addr];
+
+	/* Associate the fwnode with the device structure so it
+	 * can be looked up later.
+	 */
+	phy->mdio.dev.fwnode = child;
+
+	/* All data is now stored in the phy struct, so register it */
+	rc = phy_device_register(phy);
+	if (rc) {
+		phy_device_free(phy);
+		fwnode_handle_put(child);
+		return rc;
+	}
+
+	dev_dbg(&bus->dev, "registered phy at address %i\n", addr);
+
+	return 0;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy);
+
 struct phy_device *mdiobus_get_phy(struct mii_bus *bus, int addr)
 {
 	struct mdio_device *mdiodev = bus->mdio_map[addr];
diff --git a/include/linux/mdio.h b/include/linux/mdio.h
index 917e4bb2ed71..e55609697b42 100644
--- a/include/linux/mdio.h
+++ b/include/linux/mdio.h
@@ -330,6 +330,8 @@ int mdiobus_register_device(struct mdio_device *mdiodev);
 int mdiobus_unregister_device(struct mdio_device *mdiodev);
 bool mdiobus_is_registered_device(struct mii_bus *bus, int addr);
 struct phy_device *mdiobus_get_phy(struct mii_bus *bus, int addr);
+int fwnode_mdiobus_register_phy(struct mii_bus *bus,
+				      struct fwnode_handle *child, u32 addr);
 
 /**
  * mdio_module_driver() - Helper macro for registering mdio drivers
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists