lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 9 May 2020 06:44:40 +0200
From:   Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>
To:     Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>
Cc:     Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "kernelci . org bot" <bot@...nelci.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...el.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Ilie Halip <ilie.halip@...il.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        Marco Elver <elver@...gle.com>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@...il.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Daniel Axtens <dja@...ens.net>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Clang-Built-Linux ML <clang-built-linux@...glegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5] x86: bitops: fix build regression

On Sat, May 9, 2020 at 1:47 AM Jesse Brandeburg
<jesse.brandeburg@...el.com> wrote:
>
> On Fri, 8 May 2020 13:28:35 -0700
> Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com> wrote:
>
> > On Fri, May 08, 2020 at 11:32:29AM -0700, Nick Desaulniers wrote:
> > > Use the `%b` "x86 Operand Modifier" to instead force register allocation
> > > to select a lower-8-bit GPR operand.
>
> This looks OK to me, I appreciate the work done to find the right
> fix and clean up the code while not breaking sparse! I had a look at
> the assembly from gcc 9.3.1 and it looks good. Thanks!
>
> Reviewed-by: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@...el.com>
>

Tested v5 on Debian/testing AMD64 with a selfmade llvm-toolchain
(LLVM/Clang/LLD) v10.0.1+git92d5c1be9ee9

Please add:

     Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@...il.com>

For details see
<https://github.com/ClangBuiltLinux/linux/issues/961#issuecomment-626104287>

Thanks to all involved people.

- Sedat -

Powered by blists - more mailing lists