lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 May 2020 14:22:35 -0300
From:   Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>
To:     Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>
Cc:     Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@...com>,
        Kajol Jain <kjain@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>,
        John Garry <john.garry@...wei.com>,
        Jin Yao <yao.jin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kan Liang <kan.liang@...ux.intel.com>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@....com>,
        Paul Clarke <pc@...ibm.com>,
        Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        bpf@...r.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@...r.kernel.org,
        Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@...ne.edu>,
        Stephane Eranian <eranian@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics

Em Thu, May 21, 2020 at 01:43:25PM +0200, Jiri Olsa escreveu:
> On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 11:20:04AM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> 
> SNIP
> 
> > There are 5 out of 12 metric groups where no events are shared, such
> > as Power, however, disabling grouping of events always reduces the
> > number of events.
> > 
> > The result for Memory_BW needs explanation:
> > 
> > Metric group: Memory_BW
> >  - No merging (old default, now --metric-no-merge): 9
> >  - Merging over metrics (new default)             : 5
> >  - No event groups and merging (--metric-no-group): 11
> > 
> > Both with and without merging the groups fail to be set up and so the
> > event counts here are for broken metrics. The --metric-no-group number
> > is accurate as all the events are scheduled. Ideally a constraint
> > would be added for these metrics in the json code to avoid grouping.
> > 
> > v2. rebases on kernel/git/acme/linux.git branch tmp.perf/core, fixes a
> > missing comma with metric lists (reported-by Jiri Olsa
> > <jolsa@...hat.com>) and adds early returns to metricgroup__add_metric
> > (suggested-by Jiri Olsa).
> 
> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>

Applied and pushed to tmp.perf/core, will move to perf/core as soon as
testing finishes,

- Arnaldo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists