lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 22 May 2020 02:33:12 +0100 (BST)
From:   "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@....com>
To:     Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@...kalelectronics.ru>
cc:     Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@...ha.franken.de>,
        Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@...il.com>,
        Alexey Malahov <Alexey.Malahov@...kalelectronics.ru>,
        Paul Burton <paulburton@...nel.org>,
        Ralf Baechle <ralf@...ux-mips.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        Jiaxun Yang <jiaxun.yang@...goat.com>,
        Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@...nk.ru>,
        Huacai Chen <chenhc@...ote.com>,
        Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@...nel.org>,
        Cedric Hombourger <Cedric_Hombourger@...tor.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Philippe Mathieu-Daudé <f4bug@...at.org>,
        Guenter Roeck <linux@...ck-us.net>,
        Paul Cercueil <paul@...pouillou.net>,
        Zhou Yanjie <zhouyanjie@...o.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@...nel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Allison Randal <allison@...utok.net>,
        Liangliang Huang <huanglllzu@...il.com>,
        周琰杰 (Zhou Yanjie) 
        <zhouyanjie@...yeetech.com>, YunQiang Su <syq@...ian.org>,
        Zou Wei <zou_wei@...wei.com>,
        Oleksij Rempel <linux@...pel-privat.de>,
        Kamal Dasu <kdasu.kdev@...il.com>, linux-mips@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
        "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@...ux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 03/13] mips: Add MIPS Release 5 support

On Thu, 21 May 2020, Serge Semin wrote:

> There are five MIPS32/64 architecture releases currently available:
> from 1 to 6 except fourth one, which was intentionally skipped.
> Three of them can be called as major: 1st, 2nd and 6th, that not only
> have some system level alterations, but also introduced significant
> core/ISA level updates. The rest of the MIPS architecture releases are
> minor.

 Well, strictly speaking R3 added microMIPS support, which was all but
minor (of course there were minor updates too, such as 2008-NaN support).

  Maciej

Powered by blists - more mailing lists