lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 15 Jun 2020 01:07:10 +0200
From:   "Alexander A. Klimov" <grandmaster@...klimov.de>
To:     Stefano Brivio <sbrivio@...hat.com>
Cc:     Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...filter.org>,
        Jozsef Kadlecsik <kadlec@...filter.org>,
        Florian Westphal <fw@...len.de>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jakub Kicinski <kuba@...nel.org>,
        Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>,
        Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@...il.com>,
        Will Deacon <will@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>,
        Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...nel.org>,
        Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>,
        Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netfilter-devel@...r.kernel.org,
        coreteam@...filter.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: Good idea to rename files in include/uapi/ ?



Am 14.06.20 um 22:34 schrieb Stefano Brivio:
> On Sun, 14 Jun 2020 21:41:17 +0200
> "Alexander A. Klimov" <grandmaster@...klimov.de> wrote:
> 
>> Hello there!
>>
>> At the moment one can't checkout a clean working directory w/o any
>> changed files on a case-insensitive FS as the following file names have
>> lower-case duplicates:
> 
> They are not duplicates: matching extensions are lowercase, target
> extensions are uppercase. DSCP is the extension to set DSCP bits, dscp
> is the extension to match on those packet bits.
> 
>> ➜  linux git:(96144c58abe7) git ls-files |sort -f |uniq -id
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_CONNMARK.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_DSCP.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_MARK.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_RATEEST.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_TCPMSS.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter_ipv4/ipt_ECN.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter_ipv4/ipt_TTL.h
>> include/uapi/linux/netfilter_ipv6/ip6t_HL.h
>> net/netfilter/xt_DSCP.c
>> net/netfilter/xt_HL.c
>> net/netfilter/xt_RATEEST.c
>> net/netfilter/xt_TCPMSS.c
>> tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/Z6.0+pooncelock+poonceLock+pombonce.litmus
>> ➜  linux git:(96144c58abe7)
>>
>> Also even on a case-sensitive one VIm seems to have trouble with editing
>> both case-insensitively equal files at the same time.
> 
> ...what trouble exactly?
vi -O2 include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_CONNMARK.h 
include/uapi/linux/netfilter/xt_connmark.h

... opens the first file two times.

> 
>> I was going to make a patch renaming the respective duplicates, but I'm
>> not sure:
>>
>> *Is it a good idea to rename files in include/uapi/ ?*
> 
> I'm not sure it's a good idea to even use git on a case-insensitive
> filesystem. I'm curious, what is your use case?
My MacOS workstation. Now as I discovered the problem I've created a r/w 
image with a c/s FS, but the need of that for a clean `git checkout .' 
is IMAO pretty silly.

Don't worry, I run Linux, but only on my servers.

Also this issue should also apply to M$ Windows workstations. By the way 
at work I actually use Git on Windows if needed and it also just works. 
However the software I work on doesn't have this issue.

> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists