lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 4 Jul 2020 21:36:15 +0900
From:   Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...omium.org>
To:     Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@...all.nl>
Cc:     Tiffany Lin <tiffany.lin@...iatek.com>,
        Andrew-CT Chen <andrew-ct.chen@...iatek.com>,
        Rui Wang <gtk_ruiwang@...iatek.com>,
        Yunfei Dong <yunfei.dong@...iatek.com>,
        Pi-Hsun Shih <pihsun@...omium.org>,
        Maoguang Meng <maoguang.meng@...iatek.com>,
        Linux Media Mailing List <linux-media@...r.kernel.org>,
        "moderated list:ARM/Mediatek SoC support" 
        <linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 16/18] media: mtk-vcodec: venc: make S_PARM return
 -ENOTTY for CAPTURE queue

On Fri, Jul 3, 2020 at 5:30 PM Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@...all.nl> wrote:
>
> On 26/06/2020 10:04, Alexandre Courbot wrote:
> > v4l2-compliance expects ENOTTY to be returned when a given queue does
> > not support S_PARM.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...omium.org>
> > ---
> >  drivers/media/platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_enc.c | 2 +-
> >  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> >
> > diff --git a/drivers/media/platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_enc.c b/drivers/media/platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_enc.c
> > index aae610e6d4e8..346a33c6869d 100644
> > --- a/drivers/media/platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_enc.c
> > +++ b/drivers/media/platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_enc.c
> > @@ -200,7 +200,7 @@ static int vidioc_venc_s_parm(struct file *file, void *priv,
> >       struct mtk_vcodec_ctx *ctx = fh_to_ctx(priv);
> >
> >       if (a->type != V4L2_BUF_TYPE_VIDEO_OUTPUT_MPLANE)
> > -             return -EINVAL;
> > +             return -ENOTTY;
>
> This doesn't look right: S_PARM *is* supported, just not for this buffer type.
> So -EINVAL is the correct error code.
>
> What is the exact v4l2-compliance failure? It might be a bug in the test.

The error is as follows:

Format ioctls:
        test VIDIOC_ENUM_FMT/FRAMESIZES/FRAMEINTERVALS: OK
                fail: v4l2-test-formats.cpp(1336): got error 22 when
setting parms for buftype 9
        test VIDIOC_G/S_PARM: FAIL

Maybe we need to check for EINVAL and return ENOTTY in that case, like
what is done on line 1305 of v4l2-test-formats.cpp for VIDIOC_G_PARM?

>
> Regards,
>
>         Hans
>
> >
> >       ctx->enc_params.framerate_num =
> >                       a->parm.output.timeperframe.denominator;
> >
>

Powered by blists - more mailing lists