lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu,  6 Aug 2020 10:40:34 +0800
From:   Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
To:     Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@...ux.intel.com>,
        Namhyung Kim <namhyung@...nel.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        "Naveen N. Rao" <naveen.n.rao@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Ian Rogers <irogers@...gle.com>,
        Kemeng Shi <shikemeng@...wei.com>,
        James Clark <james.clark@....com>,
        Wei Li <liwei391@...wei.com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Al Grant <Al.Grant@....com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
Subject: [PATCH v1 04/11] perf mem: Only initialize memory event for recording

It's needless to initialize memory events for perf reporting, so only
initialize memory event for perf recording.  This change allows to parse
perf data on cross platforms, e.g. perf tool can output reports even the
machine doesn't enable any memory events.

Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@...aro.org>
---
 tools/perf/builtin-mem.c | 10 +++++-----
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-mem.c b/tools/perf/builtin-mem.c
index bd4229ca3685..a7204634893c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-mem.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-mem.c
@@ -78,6 +78,11 @@ static int __cmd_record(int argc, const char **argv, struct perf_mem *mem)
 	OPT_END()
 	};
 
+	if (perf_mem_events__init()) {
+		pr_err("failed: memory events not supported\n");
+		return -1;
+	}
+
 	argc = parse_options(argc, argv, options, record_mem_usage,
 			     PARSE_OPT_KEEP_UNKNOWN);
 
@@ -436,11 +441,6 @@ int cmd_mem(int argc, const char **argv)
 		NULL
 	};
 
-	if (perf_mem_events__init()) {
-		pr_err("failed: memory events not supported\n");
-		return -1;
-	}
-
 	argc = parse_options_subcommand(argc, argv, mem_options, mem_subcommands,
 					mem_usage, PARSE_OPT_KEEP_UNKNOWN);
 
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists