lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 13 Aug 2020 08:33:37 +0100
From:   Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>
To:     Roger Pau Monne <roger.pau@...rix.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Oleksandr Andrushchenko <oleksandr_andrushchenko@...m.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>, Wei Liu <wl@....org>,
        Yan Yankovskyi <yyankovskyi@...il.com>,
        dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org, xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, David Hildenbrand <david@...hat.com>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/2] xen: add helpers to allocate unpopulated memory

On Tue, Aug 11, 2020 at 11:44:47AM +0200, Roger Pau Monne wrote:
> If enabled (because ZONE_DEVICE is supported) the usage of the new
> functionality untangles Xen balloon and RAM hotplug from the usage of
> unpopulated physical memory ranges to map foreign pages, which is the
> correct thing to do in order to avoid mappings of foreign pages depend
> on memory hotplug.

So please just select ZONE_DEVICE if this is so much better rather
than maintaining two variants.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists