lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 13 Aug 2020 09:21:31 +0100
From:   Steven Price <steven.price@....com>
To:     Chinwen Chang <chinwen.chang@...iatek.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Michel Lespinasse <walken@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@...cle.com>,
        Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@...e.de>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@...radead.org>,
        Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@...pe.ca>,
        Song Liu <songliubraving@...com>,
        Jimmy Assarsson <jimmyassarsson@...il.com>,
        Huang Ying <ying.huang@...el.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
        wsd_upstream@...iatek.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/2] mmap locking API: add mmap_lock_is_contended()

On 13/08/2020 03:13, Chinwen Chang wrote:
> Add new API to query if someone wants to acquire mmap_lock
> for write attempts.
> 
> Using this instead of rwsem_is_contended makes it more tolerant
> of future changes to the lock type.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Chinwen Chang <chinwen.chang@...iatek.com>

Reviewed-by: Steven Price <steven.price@....com>

> ---
>   include/linux/mmap_lock.h | 5 +++++
>   1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/include/linux/mmap_lock.h b/include/linux/mmap_lock.h
> index 0707671..18e7eae 100644
> --- a/include/linux/mmap_lock.h
> +++ b/include/linux/mmap_lock.h
> @@ -87,4 +87,9 @@ static inline void mmap_assert_write_locked(struct mm_struct *mm)
>   	VM_BUG_ON_MM(!rwsem_is_locked(&mm->mmap_lock), mm);
>   }
>   
> +static inline int mmap_lock_is_contended(struct mm_struct *mm)
> +{
> +	return rwsem_is_contended(&mm->mmap_lock);
> +}
> +
>   #endif /* _LINUX_MMAP_LOCK_H */
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists