lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Nov 2020 11:44:44 +0100
From:   Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>
To:     Mike Travis <mike.travis@....com>,
        Justin Ernst <justin.ernst@....com>,
        Mark Gross <mgross@...ux.intel.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        x86@...nel.org, Steve Wahl <steve.wahl@....com>
Cc:     Dimitri Sivanich <dimitri.sivanich@....com>,
        Russ Anderson <russ.anderson@....com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@...nel.org>,
        Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>,
        Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, platform-driver-x86@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/5] x86/platform/uv: Move UV procfs leaves to sysfs

Hi,

On 11/25/20 6:29 PM, Mike Travis wrote:
> 
> Duplicate the current UV procfs leaves to the uv_sysfs driver so they show
> up under /sys/firmware/sgi_uv.  Show a 'deprecated' warning message if
> any of the old /proc/sgi_uv leaves are used.
> 
> These patches depend on the prior set sent by Justin Ernst <justin.ernst@....com>
> 	x86/platform/uv: Remove existing /sys/firmware/sgi_uv/ interface
> 	x86/platform/uv: Add and export uv_bios_* functions
> 	x86/platform/uv: Add new uv_sysfs platform driver
> 	x86/platform/uv: Update ABI documentation of /sys/firmware/sgi_uv/
> 	x86/platform/uv: Update MAINTAINERS for uv_sysfs driver
> 
> Mike Travis (5):
>   x86/platform/uv: Add kernel interfaces for obtaining system info.
>   x86/platform/uv: Add sysfs leaves to replace those in procfs
>   x86/platform/uv: Add sysfs hubless leaves
>   x86/platform/uv: Add deprecated messages to /proc info leaves
>   x86/platform/uv: Update sysfs document file
> 
>  .../ABI/testing/sysfs-firmware-sgi_uv         | 16 +++++
>  arch/x86/include/asm/uv/bios.h                |  2 +
>  arch/x86/kernel/apic/x2apic_uv_x.c            | 38 +++++++++-
>  drivers/platform/x86/uv_sysfs.c               | 70 ++++++++++++++++++-
>  4 files changed, 123 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

This series depends on the:

[PATCH v3 0/5] x86/platform/uv: Add uv_sysfs platform driver

Series, next time when such a thing is the case, please add a note
about this to the cover letter.

Like with the "[PATCH v3 0/5] x86/platform/uv: Add uv_sysfs platform driver" series,
this series too should be merged in its entirety through the x86/tip tree (once the
other series is merged). Please also add this info to the cover letter.

I've one remark to patch 4 (which I send in a reply to that). So a v2 is going
to be necessary. Please include the above bits in the v2 cover-letter.

Regards,

Hans

Powered by blists - more mailing lists